Ratings based on 111 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Best beach in Zanzibar, but not the accommodation

Posted Dec 10, 2016 on Hotels
It was by far the best beach in Zanzibar I have seen. The staff were very friendly. The terrace and the view from the bungalow was absolutely stunning, the sofa and the hammock on the terrace were really nice. I loved how calm the place was, how private, both the bungalow and the beach. The terrace is great for doing pilates and yoga. I'm really sorry to say that but the truth really was that I couldn't sleep the 2 nights I spent there, the mattress was the weirdest thing I've been on, it was like a mud hole that sucks you in the middle. Whilst you try to sleep you always roll to that hole in the middle of the mattress, it was soooo uncomfortable and I had massive back pain both days despite doing yoga and pilates every morning and evening. I actually slept on the beach during the day because I was so so tired, the sun loungers were very comfortable and I was thinking sleeping on them during the night… The bathroom was not clean at all, very mouldy and full with limestone and dirt both the sink and the shower with a very weird smell, I actually went to the ocean to take a bath because the bathroom was too disgusting. The food was also not tasty at all, both the breakfast and dinner, not even the fruit, I was hungry for lunch as well whereas with all other accommodations in Zanzibar I was totally fine with half board. If they'd clean or refurbish the bathroom, get a new mattress and cook better food, it'd deserve 5 stars. I stayed at 5 different hotels during my trip
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great for relaxation

Posted Oct 21, 2016 on Hotels
The staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 10, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful, peaceful spot, with good food and incredibly welcoming staff who can't do enough for you. Spent lots of time relaxing in the hammock on our private veranda, or strolling along the beautiful beach. The best part was doing yoga classes watching the sunrise over the Indian Ocean - pure bliss
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

AMAZING VACATION!

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Pros: The staff was incredibly friendly and SO helpful! They truly make sure you're stay is as relaxing as possible!
Location: Do the snorkeling tour - book it at the front desk - it's only $20 USD and it was amazing! Also, go to The Rock for dinner!
A friend and I stayed here for 4 days following a month long study abroad trip to Tanzania. We chose Kichanga based off a recommendation from another friend who had stayed here the previous year after her study abroad. She told us it was a nice place, but it exceeded every expectation we had! First of all, the room was amazing. We had a wonderful (albeit, a little hard) king sized bed, with an amazing bathroom and even a changing room! Everything was provided for us - from the beach towels, to the beach bag, to bottled water everyday. The food was really great. Breakfast and dinner were included with our stay - and how can you go wrong with that. We both usually had the fish dish every night and it was always prepared nicely. They also have yoga, which we scheduled for sunrise. The yoga instructor, Ilse, is amazing! I've never done yoga before and she made sure to explain all the positions and ensure I was doing it properly to not hurt myself. It was a great way to start the day. The service and staff were probably the best I've ever encountered. A few days before we were set to arrive, I received an email asking if I'd like a car service to pick us up from the airport. We also wanted to set up some tours for one of the days, and we went to the front desk and they took care of literally everything - so we were able to do the Spice tour, Stone Town and Prisoner Island all in one day for only $95 USD.
4 out of 5
by Silvana from NYC

Things to do

Posted Jul 2, 2016 on Hotels
It was very Nice but there is not much to do besides going to the beach. Beautiful and peaceful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 20, 2016 on Hotels
Very good facility got relaxing on the beach. Nice pool. Comfortable room. No AC.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful beach and great staff

Posted Jan 1, 2016
Stunning location with a beautiful private beach. We stayed in one of the ocean bungalows, which had a beautiful balcony with a great view. Staff was super nice and accommodating and helped us with a variety of needs, from broken shoes to stomach troubles. Cocktails were delicious, food wasn't amazing but it was pretty good. Highly recommended!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cairo, Egypt

Posted Dec 29, 2015
I think it needs to be modernized more and the food portions to be increased. Other than that, every thing was really perfect and I would go there again.
3 out of 5
by Mohamed from abudhabi

nice quite place

Posted Dec 28, 2015 on Hotels
Overall great stay, delesious food quite area, cosi condos but there was no A/C ( end of December ) No ATM machines close by (the nearest in stontown )
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice view, good beach when tide in

Posted Dec 27, 2015
Pros: location
Cons: needs AC, Fridge,Tea Coffee facilities
rooms good but requires AC, nice location quiet beach and friendly staff. rooms need updating though. owner is nice since he asks about stay on almost daily basis.