Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Jaimeson

Relaxing stay with wonderful service

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
The owner and the staff were lovely and went out of their way to make my stay enjoyable. The atmosphere and service were excellent and I hope to visit again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very basic guest house

Posted Oct 30, 2016 on Hotels
Pros: lobby area is nice with games, books, puzzles. There is a pool area that is good to hang out at. Place serves decent food. Quiet. Cons: there is no backup generator so when the town shuts off power during the day from 9 to 5, there is no power in your room to flush toilets, shower, or charge phones. All of the sheets and towels had stains on them, including visible blood stains. Toilet seats do not fit over actual toilet so the seats crack and you end up sitting on the actual porcelain toilet bowl. Bathroom has no bar or hand soap. Mosquito nets have holes in them. Other than the bathroom window, none of the windows in the room have screens so you can't open them without fear that bugs may fly in. Balcony does not directly face beach, you can see the a sliver of beach from the side of the balcony. Price per night is quite pricey for that is offered compared to similar places on the east coast.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A Bit Remote but OK

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Location: Have to take a taxi to town.
Nice guest house, but unreliable running water. Great staff and good food, but a little expensive.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 30, 2016 on Hotels
Good hotel overall. Great food and service by the staff. WiFi was in and out but otherwise a good place.
5 out of 5
by Jeremy

Posted Jul 29, 2016 on Hotels
As a solo traveler I really enjoyed my stay here - the staff were very friendly and the guests quickly got to know each other over a bbq and a sunset trip arranged by the hotel. The food was excellent. I went to Zanzibar for kitesurfing and KK is ideally located on the beach close to the best kiting spot.
5 out of 5
by Chris from Denver

One of the best hotels we've ever stayed

Posted Mar 14, 2016 on Hotels
Great experience and one of our favorite stays anywhere! Dina, the owner was extremely friendly and helpful and every one of the staff members went completely out of their way to help us in any way possible.
5 out of 5
by Marjorie from Jackson

Perfect Place on Zanzibar

Posted Dec 5, 2015 on Hotels
My boyfriend and I stayed at the Kilima Kidogo for 4 nights after a tent camping, adventures safari trip in Kenya. Dina met us upon arrival late in the evening which started our stay at the Kilima Kidogo off great. We loved the personal touches of staying at the Kilima. It was easy to meet the other guests and become friends with all there. Our room and service was great, everyone was friendly and helpful and the stay was fantastic. The Kilimo Kidogo is located between Paje and Jambiani, which made for perfect beach walks in either direction. Kilimo Kidogo was the perfect place for us after our tent camping safari!
5 out of 5
by Elie from lima, peru

Excellent stay

Posted Aug 10, 2015 on Hotels
Dina and her staff were wonderful with us. They made everything easy and convenient for us to enjoy our days at the hotel. The beach was great, the massage facilities very convenient, the pool perfect for a quick dip after the beach, etc. No complaints at all and we will definitely go back there is we visit Zanzibar again.
5 out of 5
by Katherine from Arlington, TX

Posted Jun 24, 2015 on Hotels
Absolutely wonderful stay at this charming and friendly guest house. Owner and manager Dina was gracious and helpful all the time. One of the best places we have stayed. Highly recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2015 by Dina, Hotel Management
Thank you so much Katherine! I am so happy you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you soon again, especially with all new changes after our recent renovations:)
4 out of 5
by Akruti from Brooklyn, New York

Cute, no frills guesthouse

Posted Feb 15, 2015 on Hotels
Kilima Kidogo is a cute beach rustic bungalow. It's not a 5 start resort but it is a great guesthouse with a fabulous owner, Dina, who is more concerned about you having a great vacation than you yourself are! From my understanding it has just been rebuilt after a fire and so there are some tweaks that are still required (my toilet didn't flush every time but that doesn't bother me). The wifi is spotty but I think that is the same everywhere in the area. Only thing I would recommend improvement on is having some sort of barricade between the ocean and the outdoor restaurant. As beautiful as it is, the amount of wind kicks up a lot of sand into your face and food.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2015 by Dina, Hotel Management
Thank you Akruti for your comments. Thank you to all our first guests that had to help us to identify all the building problems and we have this now all sorted out. Unfortunately Zanzibar also have 4 seasons like any where else in the world. Twise a year (2 months out the 12th months) we have wind to entertain all the Kite surfers. We have put curtains in the Restaurant and bar to make sure the guests do not eat sand. This is now pleasant . Thank you Akruti for your advise.