Ratings based on 103 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
51% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Tired hotel

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: There was nothing that was particularly good
Cons: If a load of money was spent on the hotel, it would be improved to an acceptable standard
Location: The hotel is in an area where you have to travel, there is nothing nearby
The roof leaked, the hotel staff were sullen, the décor was grubby, the photos do not reflect reality
4 out of 5
by Adrian

Isolated

Posted May 21, 2017 on Hotels
The staff were absolutely great. Manager and his wife extremely ignorant. Walked past them many times and they never even looked or spoke and also I could see that they treated their staff with very little respect. Also it would have been nice to have a television, even if only in the bar for sport. The sea was too shallow for swimming, even a kilometer out not possible. Food and drink expensive but they have a captive audience as all you can get in the village is basic food and no alcohol.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from zimbabwe

Under maintained hotel with a filthy beach.

Posted Apr 25, 2017 on CheapTickets
Rooms are filthy. You have to wear shoes kn the rooms. shower wasnt working. Bar wasnt well stocked. Breakfast was terrible. The staff were friendly enough especially the Masaai. The neach is so filthy you cant even swim. The pool is okay though. No activities in the vicinity. Too far from nungwi where all activities are.
1 out of 5
by veronique

WRONG TURN CHWAKA

Posted Apr 16, 2017 on Hotels
i found it very depressing for a 1s in a life time type of holiday ....staff was unhelpful an unaccommodating I wud like mention 2 names for out standing service performance zuhura sahid (the chef who had no say in making my life more comfortable than preparing good food) these two people saved our time at chwaka bay !!!!! they were attentive an caring ......they showed interest in us even though I know it was not part of their job description th management an owners dd not even greet us even though we were th only guests there for a week !! staff is poorly trained margaritas were not available for 3days cos lemons cud not be found????
3 out of 5
by צוריאל

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 2, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charlottesville, Va

A few details could make this place better

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Pros: people are very friendly and helpful though at a slow island pace
Cons: we found out the resort is rented by a person that is not usually there. that shows lack of attention to details that could make this place great.
Location: about one hour by car from airport. arrived late so had car waiting 4 us. must negotiate car rates always quoted high. visited stone town in evening
i would not recommend to drive in Zanzibar, at night people sit on the road to socialize with their back to the road which is very dangerous. Situated in a calm secluded bay the sunrises are spectacular.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to atone town

Posted Jan 23, 2017
The drive from stone town was about an hour and cost $20USD. Book from a travel agent in town and you can get a pickup at the end also. The resort had a small pool but no boats or kite surfing so there wasn't much to do. It was too hot during the day to do much so a little boring. Everything moved slowly and it wasn't near any towns worth visiting so you're kind of stuck there. Food was just all right and the banda was comfortable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient hotel, great price/quality

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
Great, comfortable beach side hotel for extremely low price. Good kitchen, friendly staff, relaxing atmosphere. The manager seemed to be very distrusting of our intention to pay, being quite rude at times.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
Very relaxing atmosphere, but very far from Stone Town which is very costly at the end of the day. The breakfast can definitely be improved as a vegetable breakfast does not suit all and also cooked meals to be served hot and not cold. Not much hotel amenities and hotel is situated far from town and taxis are expensive to travel in and out from hotel. overall the hotel is friendly and the say was relaxing.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect place to unwind

Posted Oct 3, 2016 on Hotels
The perfect place to unwind and relax. Service staff extremely friendly and helpful. Great budget holiday!