Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington D.C.

Good hotel \ secluded \ not a swimming beach

Posted Oct 14, 2017
The hotel is very nice with tasteful rustic bungalows that blend in well with the island and surrounding environment. Staff & mamangement friendly & very courteous. They tried to be very helpful but sometimes felt like they were trying too hard and weren’t as knowledgeable as tried to be. My problem with the hotel is how secluded it is which maybe great for someone looking for minimal interaction with others but it was a bit too much for us. I can’t recommend this hotel because of the beach access problem. The reef and the tide make it almost impossible to swim and you’d have to take a boat or venture out in a taxi to other beach towns. This hotel is a good one but definitely not for everyone.
5 out of 5
by Perry

Experience the Matenwe Hospitaility

Posted Jun 28, 2017 on Hotels
The perfect "escape from it" all break. The staff could not be more helpful without being intrusive. The location was stunning and very peaceful. Food and beverage standard higher than similar properties. Would not hesitate to recommend to couple wanting a relaxing break. The short off-road track approaching the hotel was in poor condition due to the recent rain, but it did not retract from our excellent stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2017
Dear Perry, Many thanks for your feedback on your recent stay at Matemwe Lodge. We value feedback from our guests as this helps us improve our service and guests' experience. I will be sure to forward your feedback on to the lodge. Best regards. Vianca Davids Asilia Africa
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Magical Villa Experience

Posted Mar 28, 2017
I enjoyed every single part of my stay. The villa is spacious, clean, and very peaceful. The view of the ocean is spectacular, and I just loved relaxing on the hammock watching the sun rise. The all inclusive meals were filling and delicious. Also the staff was attentive and courteous. I appreciated having my excursions arranged by the hotel, and felt completely safe on the grounds. I would HIGHLY recommended the lodge to anyone seeking seclusion, peace, and quiet. I look forward to visiting again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 22, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Paradise

Posted Feb 4, 2017
This place just makes you feel good. Everything is perfect, the decor is fantastic, cleanness, the view, the nature surrounding it. Above all the staff is the best ever, they are friendly and attentive but never intrusive. Food was another highlight of my holiday; all the dishes were fresh, everything was home-made. One night there was the barbecue and I had lobster, prawns, calamari, octopus, fish... The room is a bungalow, very spacious, with a lot of privacy and a fantastic view on the sea. It also has a veranda with a hammock and sofa. The resort organizes tours and activities, some of them are free.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Matemwe lodge

Posted Jan 29, 2017
It's a wonderful lodge, super attentive and helpful staff. Very enjoyable experience.
5 out of 5
by Thomas

The most beautiful hotel EVER

Posted Dec 27, 2016 on Hotels
Heaven on earth
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Heaven on earth

Posted Dec 8, 2016
If you are lucky enough to stay here, you will see that words do not do it justice. Thank you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dubai

Simply Bliss

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Pros: Everthing - piece of heaven
xi can not tell how how happy we were to be at Matemwe lodge, wow - what a find and such an experience. This place has everything, from a beautiful story of how two sisters on their way to India found themselves in a once in a lifetime situation where the government was looking for foreigners to help build a tourist industry by giving them land in Matemwae and how they have impacted the village around the property over the last couple of decades with education, building infrastructure and bringing a revenue stream that would help them flourish and grow, to the breathtaking ocean front views that every villa faces with extraordinary sunsets, to the delicious Swahili influenced food served at every meal, to the stunning aqua marina life (I can’t believe we swam up close with dolphins and saw turtles, leaf fish, stone fish, lobsters, stingrays etc as within a 30 minute boat ride there is a preserved marine park), to the rustic and airy charm of the accommodation that are simply fabulous- this place has made its way in to our hearts and we will be back! once thing i will say about Zanzibar is that there are is so much character to each part of the island and we loved moving around, but this sometimes can prove to be very expensive with transportation but we had a wonderful driver that we hired and he took us everywhere and really made our trip, we absolutely are grateful to him for making our experience that much easier getting around and helping us plan!!!! his name is Uss
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel with amazing service.

Posted Sep 25, 2016
The hotel staff was wonderful and very accommodating. This secluded property was right on the beach and many options for outdoor activities. The food was fresh and delicious!!