Ratings based on 63 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Germany

Deserves the name Ocean Paradise

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness, staff friendliness, spacious and truly 4 star buildings and grounds. Very international crowd from all over Europe plus Africa and Asia
Location: About 45 minutes from the airport and Stone Town which positions it better than some other locations at the far ends of the island
Stayed a long weekend at this gem. Wonderful spacious premises, lush greenery, great food and courteous staff. The German GM is hands-on and visibly motivating and directing his staff to deliver beyond expectations for East Africa. Very clean rooms and public areas, friendly atmosphere and decent distraction. The park-like grounds are well kept an in spite of being almost full to capacity, I felt during the day as if only 10pct of the guest were around. Beach is nice during high tide, during low tide the pool is the better option. Will certainly consider to come back to Zanzibar and to this property
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel

Posted Mar 14, 2017
We just came back from spending 10 days at the Ocean Paradise Resort. Really pleased overall. Our room was large and furnished in an African colonial style with a four poster bed. We really liked our room. Decent a/c and not a single mosquito bite in 10 days. They come and spray your room every night when you are at dinner. Beautiful, lush, green grounds and all the staff are lovely, at reception, in the bars, in the restaurant and the animations team (Hassan was fab) and guest relations (Ellie, a lovely South African lady) who were always around to have a chat during dinner. For those reviews complaining about the level of English spoken by the staff...keep in mind some of the staff haven't all had access to a great education, but they are trying their hardest. The staff all try really hard and have such positives attitudes. Just speak slowly and be patient. Nice breakfast with pork sausages and bacon every morning with an omelette/egg station and lots of fresh fruit. Lunch is served in the pool restaurant. The menu is good; selection of starters, sandwiches, wraps and pizzas,all reasonably priced, and main courses like fish of the day, curries and pasta. Reasonable prices and drinks are not too expensive. Happy hour between 3-5pm where cocktails are half price. Dinner had a different theme every night: Indian, seafood, BBQ, Swahili, oriental, Mediterranean, Asian/oriental, Italian). My favorites were seafood (lobster!), Indian, Mediterranean and Swahili (try the Zanziba
5 out of 5
by Alissa

Amazing honeymoon and Christmas stay!

Posted Dec 27, 2016 on Hotels
Amazing staff! The hotel went out of their way with many extras. Honeymoon lobster dinner by the beach. Many Christmas festivities and even a little Christmas gift! The staff was wonderful! Everything was very organized. Will be back!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dubai

Beachfront with Big Pool

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Pros: Grounds, proximity to beach, food
Cons: Internet, English-speaking staff, cleanliness of beach
Location: Stone Town, Nungwi Beach, Diving Mnemba Atoll
Overall, our five-night stay was very relaxing. I chose the resort to be close by the Mnemba Atoll where I would be diving for two days. Our room was spacious, if a bit tired. There was a nice balcony as we were on the second floor. We had hot water almost instantly at all times. The grounds were well kept and the pool was clean. They had a fence which kept the touts out -- a feature I love. The breeze throughout the day was simply amazing. The beach was a mess though -- at low tide, it was an eyesore. At high tide, it was swimmable. Barely. However, my main source of frustration was with the lack of English speaking staff. I knew we were in trouble when I asked where the concierge was located only to be given stares of misunderstanding. I asked another, "Would you kindly show me where the dive center is located?" This got me nowhere. Only after pointing at the SCUBA diver on my log book did he understand. I understand I'm in a foreign country, but clearly, this resort caters to the Westerner. My other frustration surrounded the internet. We paid to have internet in the room and I paid for two plans as we had two devices. If it worked at all, the internet required us to login every couple of hours or to restart our devices to get a connection. Often, we would get a message saying something about simultaneous connections and we couldn't connect at all. If you are making me pay for a service, I certainly expect the service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kenya

The name says it all

Posted Dec 10, 2016
Pros: The atmosphere: ocean breeze; coconut palms; white sandy, clean beach; warm, turquoise ocean water; live dinner music; cordial staff
Cons: The resort should forewarn guests about the disturbing beach boys. They follow you out to the reef and then you are expected them or buy their goods.
Location: Although it meant traveling 1+ hr back across the island, we joined the Safari Blue excursion which leaves from Fumba in the southwest of Zanzibar
This place is truly a paradise. The resort is laid out so beautifully from the gate down to the beach. The best part is the view. Because the main reception, bar, and breakfast area are set on a hill, the views overlooking the lower gardens, pool area, beach, and turquoise ocean are indescribable. We loved taking breakfast while looking out over the coconut palms to the beautiful ocean water. Again, the atmosphere at supper was so exotic, dining on a wide variety of gourmet food next to the pool with live music. The staff are happy and friendly. We even enjoyed sessions of coconut palm weaving and water aerobics. Although our room was a bit of a walk from the pool and dining areas, I cannot complain. The room itself was very clean and comfortable. The only part of the experience I can complain about is the beach boys that hassle you and disturb your serenity as you walk along the beach. We had one of them follow us as we walked out to the reef during low tide. We was indeed kind and helpful for the most part but we never invited him. Of course, after escorting us back to the resort he wanted to paid something.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Home away from home!

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Pros: The best parts of my stay were how relaxing the resort was. Also, the staff. I really enjoyed communicating with them. They made my time there amazing
Cons: You must be mindful of everything you charge to the room. You can rack up lots of charges to your room without realizing it until checkout time.
The service was great! The entire staff were very friendly to me. From small conversations to any questions that I had all were answered with smiles and laughter. From guess services and the front counter staff to the bar, waiting, and recreation staff, I can honestly say that they made my time there more enjoyable. My room was amazing, I like how I was given a tour of my room when I first arrived when you walk into the rooms. It is easy to tell that the resort takes pride and care in maintaining their rooms. I quickly fell in love with the balcony. The view from my balcony was breathtaking! You could spend hours just sitting there! Shortly after my arrival, I took a walk around the resort and was taken away from how beautiful it was. I could go on about how great this resort is, but I will say that I was glad I chose to spend my vacation there and I plan on coming back during my next trip to Zanzibar!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 20, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Posted Sep 24, 2016
The resort is beautiful you will not regret your stay! The customer service is amazing & the food is also of good standard
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 14, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ZNZ

Excellent hotel

Posted Sep 8, 2016 on Hotels
very comfortable