Ratings based on 111 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Surprisingly Good

Posted Jan 21, 2018
We got a very cheap last minute price via Expedia but reading some negative reviews we didn't know what to expect. We liked Paridise Beach Resort. As others have mentioned you can't swim in the sea but there is a nice sandy beach & surrounding gardens with 'loungers' & a few hammocks. Also area beside pool. We went to the other beach & it was even nicer & we were able to swim. We had lunch there & were very disappointed by the food & thought it was expensive compared to other better hotels on the island. We went B&B and you can buy a buffet lunch for $17 or dinner $25 (including 1 drink). We upgraded to inclusive for $35 pp for the last day. The buffet food was OK rather than good. The furniture around the resort was very interesting, often made out of old boats. The rooms however are more basic, we had a double bed & a single bed in a large open area. The single bed was a proper mattress & big enough for an adult. Our first room was near to the kitchen & the drone of the ventilation kept me awake, they moved us to another room nearer the sea, which was much nicer. Both bathrooms were functional rather than luxurious. There is also the 'Ala Cart' restaurant beside the 'Zanzi Bar'. The food there was better than buffet. We stayed 3 nights & 2 nights at another hotel & 1 night in Stonetown. There's not much to do so a change of scenery was welcome. It was good to stay in Stonetown but probably better to go only for a few hours. Overall we really enjoyed our stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Family Vacation was Fantastic

Posted Aug 31, 2017 on Hotels
It was a good stay .should have an intercom in the room, So that room service can be easily accessed.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from East Africa

STAY AWAY FROM THIS HOTEL!!!

Posted Aug 19, 2017 on CheapTickets
Pros: - spacious rooms - fridge, kettle & AC in room - second beach option - few beach boys
Cons: - bed bug and mosquito control! - staff training - food quality and variety - children's activities - refund policy!
Location: Horrible location. No swimming or snorkeling at the hotel beach. No restaurants or supermarkets within walking distance. Need a taxi for everything.
First of all, the information about this hotel on this website is inaccurate and misleading. It is advertised as a 4 star hotel. No way! I've stayed at lots of hotels in East Africa, and in comparison, this is about a 2.5 star hotel. The facilities are basic, the staff incompetent, the food disappointing. During low tide, the ocean turns into a swamp that looks disgusting and stinks. There is lots of trash on the beach. The hotel is located in a tiny village, there are no restaurants, supermarkets, souvenir shops or water sports companies within walking distance. Of the three dining options listed on this website, two don't exist. There is only one restaurant with both a buffet and an a la carte menu. The menu is overpriced, the food is generally not great quality. You only eat here because there are no other options! It's also advertised as a family hotel with a free children's club. Completely false! There are no activities for kids. Dinner starts at 7:30pm, way too late for small children. There's no staff competent to deal with children, in fact, several creepy staff members kept scaring our kids! The rooms are spacious but simple. There was mold on one of the sofa/beds. And there were bed bugs in all of our beds! We left early after the whole family was covered in bites. If you any dietary restrictions, avoid the restaurant. We asked both wait staff and chefs about ingredients of dishes (simple ones such as wheat or corn) and were given false information.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pretty Gardens, friendly staff.

Posted Aug 5, 2017 on Orbitz
The gardens are beautiful, staff are very friendly. Food was pretty good from buffet. Ala cart menu is slow (45 mins to 1 hr wait for food). Room was smaller, darker, less clean than portrayed online. Mosquito nets had holes. Toilet needed repair and TV service was unreliable. The staff did however respond quickly to room concerns. Sulfurous smell somewhat prominent at low tide from seaweed.
3 out of 5
by Wiaan

I do not recommend staying at Paradise Beach

Posted Jul 3, 2017 on Hotels
There were many problems. From no air conditioner remote control, no phone to contact reception, forgot our food order at the restaurant and then wanted to serve the starters after the main course, overall cleanliness, the kettle did have an adapter, no staff at the bar, the pool table is broken and the breakfast buffet is not great. Definitely does not deserve a 4-star rating, as this feels much more like a 3-star resort. Not a great experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The location near the beach was great

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Pros: The location and sport activities among the guests.
Cons: The rooms have a lot of wholes where insects and mosquitoes can access very easily and become so annoying.. The rooms needs to be more isolated.
Location: I just stayed inside the hotel
The entertainment activities like volleyball, yoga, etc. was excellent
5 out of 5
by Spencer

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 19, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Spencer

Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Hotels
Awesome
3 out of 5
by Jonas

Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Hotels
Won't stay here again, all in all very bad. Terrible beach, dirty and it smells. Dirty and run down room, needs a lot of work.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Abu Dhabi

Don't Go to Paradise Beach

Posted Apr 3, 2017
I was unhappy from the time I arrived. I was told I was not on the all inclusive package after specifically requested it at the time I booked. Either they mislead me or Expedia. I won't use Expedia again. The hotel did not provide turn down service. The food was not the best. Their were actually exclusions to the beverage selectionsselection after paying for the all inclusive upcharge. Not a good experience. Definitely not a 4 or 5 star resort.