Ratings based on 62 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Perfect quite location. Safe calm and relaxed.

Posted Mar 2, 2017
Pros: quite, not fussy, relaxed.
Cons: choice of food
Location: perfectly nothing but walk 30mins along the beach then other bars etc 45 mins the Rock
We like quite not fussy relaxed surroundings, this was perfect. If the tied is out you can walk for miles (with drinking water) when its in there are 2 pools or hire a car and easily drive. Best pay extra for a sea view room. If your going for a food experience for more than 4days then this is not for you. but the staff will cook within their capabilities and produce available. Overall the best holiday I have had. thank you
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Very good views, wonderful staff, good food,

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Pros: Staff, views, restaurant location and views, infinity pool, rooms, swimming pool.
Cons: Steps to swimming pool tiles need re-grouting.
Location: star fish snorkelling, great restaurant (the rock), walk on the beach, swimming in the lagoons etc.
We really enjoyed our stay at this excellent hotel. It is situated away from the main tourist areas so excellent for anyone who wants to have a quiet break in a good hotel with very attentive staff who provide an excellent all round service, including good food. The views are wonderful and rooms are excellent and there is always a sea breeze to the heat is not too much.
3 out of 5
by Janelle

Posted Aug 11, 2016 on Hotels
The good: location, food, private beach, and service from everyone EXCEPT those at the reception desk The bad: the fact that here, apparently, it's considered weird to be a solo female traveler. The staff at the reception desk made several comments that made me uncomfortable (Examples: "Next time you need to come back with people," "Wow, you're really quiet (after being there for less than 24 hours). Aren't you bored?" "You're not afraid to walk back to your room by yourself?"). I've been many places by myself, but this was the first time I have felt judged because of this. The Zanzibar portion of my trip was supposed to be a relaxing few days before I returned to work, but instead I left feeling anxious and angry. Furthermore, I was unimpressed with the inattention to detail for two (overpriced) taxi rides I requested. I was 20 minutes late to a dinner reservation at The Rock restaurant because the staff hadn't arranged the ride ahead of time and wanted to finish checking in another, larger group before calling the driver. I realize that some issues may be chalked up to cultural differences, but it is ridiculous to treat paying customers this way, especially when those customers are paying $100+/ night.
5 out of 5
by Sunny

A plrivate paradise

Posted Aug 2, 2016 on Hotels
We had a great stay, the staff were very accomodating, only reccomendation is for a wider menu
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 16, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Remote, website totally out of date

Posted Oct 18, 2015
This hotel needs to publicise that it has removed all bars and entertainment. Despite the website promoting pool and beach bars, they are all boarded up now due to a recent policy change. As a result the resort lacks atmosphere and due to its remote location it's not possible to easily leave the resort, especially at night. Food is very mediocre, rooms were nice, though basic and had to ask to have sheets changed as they all had stains. Location is beautiful, and staff are very nice
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing secluded beach - no alcohol

Posted Sep 12, 2015
Our group of five had an amazing relaxing break at this hotel to recover from traveling and safari on the mainland. The beach access was the highlight as well as the highly attentive staff and delicious dinners. One draw back was that alcohol is no longer served at the resort. You have to walk 20-30 minutes down the beach to another resort if you want alcohol. We also had issues arranging our transportation to the hotel. They said their driver would pick us up at a rearranged time but he never arrived. Absolutely stunning location.
4 out of 5
by Durida from Canada

Posted Oct 16, 2014 on Hotels
Our stay was very comfortable. The food was good but the service was slow. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would surely return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Great place

Posted Sep 13, 2014
If you want somewhere just to relax and enjoy the beauty and scenery this is the place. Plenty of jaunts to see the island. Great location, staff and rooms. Food was excellent!!! Totally enjoyed my stay and would go back and highly recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from London

Peaceful, unspoiled taste of Zanzibar beaches

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: The staff, the manager (Charles) who couldn't do enough to help us, the beaches, the pool, the general layout and the laid back feel of it all.
Cons: Consistency of the meals, eg one day the papaya salad was fabulous, the next day, different/not so. Better facilities in the room eg shower gel etc
Location: Fabulous, on an eastern peninsula at the end of a strip of beach hotels, Red Colobus monkeys/mangrove swamps snorkeling great tours. Spice Tour too.
We came to Ras Michamvi as part of a group in August 2014 having been in Tanzania and we really loved the hotel. The facilities are a little basic (eg no plug in sink and no shower gel or shampoo) but we loved that aspect of it all, it felt very authentic and the staff were so helpful, lovely and smiley that you actually didn't mind. As for the pool and beaches (there are TWO beaches at this place, one directly in front of the hotel and one to the side), well, they were absolutely amazing, white sand, turquoise sea and enough sun loungers (and hammocks!) to just loll about in the sun with plenty of shade to keep out of the sun if needed and a brach bar at each venue.