Ratings based on 1,011 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 5, 2017
Price was great...and so were the amenities. We had a wonderful time and would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, California

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Although the exterior of the hotel was slightly dated. The room itself is very comfortable, clean, and modern. The breakfast was substantial; more than the continental breakfast that was promised. Staff was exceedingly polite and good with children. Overall, excellent!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix AZ

Posted Oct 23, 2017
The hospitality was wonderful. A quaint location where the rooms were very clean and comfortable. You can also take a shuttle to a nearby casino for fun.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from phoenix

Quaint relaxing experience.

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Hotel were very cheerful and helpful. We have stayed here before and the quality of the rooms is consistent. We enjoy relaxing in the lounge and the delicious cookies they bake at night. We stayed on the freeway side overlooking the koi pond. Freeway noise outside was minimal and once the door was closed, non existent. Thanks
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2017 by Ayres Hotels, Hotel Management
Dear Doug, Thank you for your pleasant review on your recent stay with us! We are happy you came back to us and that we were able to accommodate you comfortably just like last time. We hope you choose to keep staying with us next time you're in town! Sincerely, Larry Clark General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Southern California

A good stay. Very friendly staff & good location.

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: Convenient, inexpensive and comfortable.
Cons: The air conditioner shut on and off all night long. It would be nice if there was a FAN ON option which could serve as white noise for the on/off.
Location: We visited Julian, Lake Cuyamaca and Alpine Brewing. It was a very nice and convenient location.
We enjoyed our stay. A very nice hotel staff and comfortable amenities. It was a nice quiet location (even though it was located by a highway). The air conditioner shut on/off all night, but other than that, we enjoyed our stay. It was essentially, a higher end road-side motel. Very comfortable for our family road trip.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2017 by Ayres Hotels, Hotel Management
Dear MK, We appreciate you taking the time to write a detailed review on your recent stay with us. We are very happy to have accommodated you and your family nicely. We try our best to ensure our collection of hotels offer comfortable prices! I do want to apologize for the air conditioning and we will ensure we are thoroughly checking these items prior to our guest's check-in. We welcome you to stay with us again in the future! Sincerely, Larry Clark General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 29, 2017
The room we checked into had already been checked out to someone else, can't believe they just hand keys to the same room...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Comfortable hotel. The room was very clean and well decorated. In addition every thing in the room worked as that has not been the case in many of the hotels I have stayed at. Staff could not have been nicer. I would stay there again in a heart beat. The included buffet breakfast was really outstanding. It tasted like I had just made it on my own stove at home.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, Oregon

Very nice place

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: Close to shops and food, clean rooms.
Didn't know what to expect since we have never stayed here before. We were able to get into our room 4 hours early after an early morning flight that left us tired. That definitely helped us out. Upon entering the room the first thing we noticed was the leather couch and the great bed! Room was very clean and stocked. There is a very nice backyard with a barbecue, lounge chairs, and a small Koi pond. Are room also came with free shuttle to the casino!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Home Away from Home!

Posted Sep 19, 2017
We were only able to stay for one night, and that was enough to do it! This hotel has a very homey feel while till allowing you to feel just far enough away from home. The hotel and surrounding grounds are absolutely beautiful! The staff were kind and attentive; and the breakfast was amazing, a nice little variety with the home-cooked taste. I would highly recommend this hotel! The price is reasonable and it walking distance from a few restaurants and little stores being in a resourceful location. P.S. - They also have a free shuttle that goes to the Viejas Casino! We had a great stay with this hotel, and you can too! Book it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Nice place, clean rooms. Barbecue area in the back with tables and a waterfall. Scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, biscuits and gravy , yogurt , fruit, toast , waffles. Coffee and juice. For breakfast. Overall , very nice place to stay.