Ratings based on 966 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

It’s on the beach, which is nice....

Posted Jan 3, 2018
I think perhaps where this hotel is struggling is in its attention to detail. The front desk staff and the food service folks were all very lovely and attentive. But the rooms themselves had some issues- our bathroom was almost comical: a soap dish that spun in circles on the wall, a sliding glass shower door that didn’t really “slide”, a shower faucet control that was faulty, a toilet that came with its own plunger stationed beside it because, yeah, that happened....a bathroom door that had so little clearance it constantly bunched up the bath mat on the floor, a pile of human hair rolling about behind aforementioned bathroom door (oh yeah),... seriously, you had to just laugh after a bit. The floors were weirdly sticky and the sheets on the bed were worn to the extent that they had a pill-y texture to them. Blech. Oh, and beware the “shared” balcony. Some of the rooms have balconies that are separated only by a metal railing. Unless you really like your neighbors, these balconies can be a tad, well, awkward.... As for food, the kitchen does an adequate job. Nothing knocks your socks off, but be aware that you are somewhat isolated out there on the east end of the island, so rent a car, and drive the 2 minutes to Tukka, just down the road, for some great local fresh fish. You WILL get tired of the same menu, day after day at the resort!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

room right on the beach

Posted Jan 2, 2018
Pros: rooms on beach
Cons: rooms updated
Location: far from most restaurants and things you want to do
Loved this place as our room right on the beach. Not crowded, no fight for chairs, Great if you don't love the big resorts with lounge chairs on top of each other on the beach. Just great low key. Rooms somewhat dated (not 4 seasons but everything we needed ) Only downside was beach was not like 7 mile beach. Windy (maybe because windy season and side of island?) and choppy water. Also far from town and most restaurants. I would be happy to return but might look into condo type accommodations on 7 mile beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 31, 2017
Great hotel Great location Only negative is very slow wifi.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 29, 2017
Overall excellent hotel, but K-9 officer let his dog bark all night most nights! And he was located right below our bedroom window.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Nice but not a resort

Posted Dec 28, 2017
Staff was friendly. Hotel was Pricy and older, needs a lot of updates, is not a resort....room cleaning declined toward the last 3 days of our stay. Food in the restaurants was great and the grocery store across the street was handy. we will stay at one of the resorts on seven miles, or rent a home/condo next time due to our cost not including the $50 a day resort fee this place charged on top of our daily rate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel on the beach

Posted Dec 27, 2017
Pros: It was clean & fairly modern
Cons: Food quality and variety; there are two places to eat - the dining room and the beachside bar. Menu choices were decent but food was inconsistent
Location: This resort is on the far East side of the island - well away from most restaurants. There is a small strip mall nearby with a liquor & grocery store
The beach facing studio was clean, well appointed and very spacious. The beach was lovely and the local dive shop had a small store on the property. Staying on the far East side of the island meant that access to other restaurants aside from the one art the hotel was challenging
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Poor security - patio door did not lock properly

Posted Dec 21, 2017
Pros: Far away from the buzz of 7 mile beach
Location: was close to Rum Point and the cost of boating activities was less $$ than on the west side of the island.
As soon as we got there we were told to meet the concierge and all she did was try to get us to come to a time share sales event. The room was small, not that clean, and I lacked the kitchen utensils and microwave cookware needed to use the kitchenette. The maid tried to enter our room without knocking first, and she pushed on the door so hard that she broke the safety chain off the wall. The beach faces the wrong way for the sun so you have to turn the deck chairs around to face the hotel if you are sunbathing. You can't even enjoy the ocean view. Patio decks are shared with your neighbour, so better hope you have something in common with them! Plan for a one hour drive to get to seven mile beach and try to avoid rush hour traffic as there are only two lanes on the highway out there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Nice facility - clean beach area

Posted Dec 19, 2017
Pros: beautiful facility - nicely appointed rooms - right on the beach
Cons: Rather expensive if you include all the extra fees
Location: Traveled along the coast to Rum Point
Enjoyed the hamburger cookout! Loved the kitchen facility in the room - made good use of it! Nice location away from most of the tourist areas on the west side. However somewhat windy during our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from virginia beach virginia

Quiet getaway

Posted Dec 9, 2017
Once again a fantastic stay at Wyndham Reef. This was our 10th stay. Friendly staff, quiet beautiful beach and excellent clean rooms beach bar has great food. Already looking forward to next year
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beware...Time Share

Posted Nov 22, 2017
We were checking in and were approached by a pushy sales person who was titled as a “concierge”. They try and sell you a time share. The property was ok. The views from the rooms are great! Food at the hotel was ok. Quiet and away from the tourist hub.