Ratings based on 50 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
5.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by christopher from Kent

Dendemonde trip

Posted Jul 29, 2016 on Hotels
Inge is a great host, taking an interest in her guests and being flexible with breakfast times to suit their requirements. Something that an impersonal hotel - where you are just another number - would struggle to match.
5 out of 5
by Jemmy from Israel

Honeymooners relaxation

Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
Wonderful place to stay during holidays to clear mind and stay away from the city noise. we stayed at abalona for 3 nights during our honeymoon and it was fantastic, we enjoyed the modern atmosphere in and out of the room, breakfast was delicious and the room was wide and comfortable. 5 stars for this place (maybe if there was a small restaurant in it)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Boutique Hotel Especially for the Price

Posted Jun 20, 2015
Cons: Some carpeting on the front stairs and foyer might help lower the noisiness for the front rooms.
Location: The location is a little difficult to find. A GPS definitely helped me.
This a a nice modern boutique hotel. I liked absolutely everything about it ... and, on top of this the price was very reasonable. Things that especially stood out: (1) Inge, the owner, is very helpful; (2) rooms and bathrooms are beautiful, clean and comfortable, and the beds are really great (nice sheets, great pillows); and (3) the breakfast was wonderful and served with a gourmet feel. The only negative is that the rooms in front are a little noisy.
5 out of 5
by Craig from Liverpool

Ace on all fronts

Posted Apr 18, 2015 on Hotels
Fantastic all round I'll be back :-)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Perfect bed and breakfast hotel for overnight stay

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Very quite, clean, new and comfortable hotel for business travellers
5 out of 5
by Emma from Kent

Outstanding

Posted Nov 11, 2014 on Hotels
Cant fault this lovely B&B, stunning rooms, gorgeous breakfast and excellent, friendly service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vermont

Highly recommended

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Pros: The owner who greeted us obviously takes a lot of care in providing a nice facility and great service.
We found a lot to like about this bed and breakfast that in some ways is more like a boutique hotel. The rooms are private and quiet and have upscale design features. The included breakfast was ample and delicious. Free parking is a few steps away from the entrance. Wi-fi signal was a little weak in our third floor room. We used the ample common area / breakfast room.
5 out of 5
by GillB from Fareham

Fantastic B&B

Posted Aug 11, 2014 on Hotels
A beautiful modern B&B with great facilities - very quiet, with courtyard sitting areas too. No restaurant, but Dendermonde, a lovely town with picturesque square, has a great choice of restaurants and is only 10 minutes drive away, though the B&B also offers a taxi service if you don't want to drive!! The owners look after you so well and clearly take pride in what they do and making you feel welcome ... we are certain to return!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Surprising Find in Dendermonde, Belgium

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: First, I must compliment Inga, one of the owners. She is warm and very accommodating! She also gave us excellent restaurant recommendations.
Cons: The closet space was a little tight (but manageable).
Location: Abalona is on a quiet street surrounded by farms and a small residential neighborhood. You really do need a car as there are no restaurants nearby.
We stayed at Abalona 8 days in June, 2014 and loved it. While Dendermonde is only 30 kilometers from Brussels - a little less to Gent - logistically we wanted to stay nearer to Dendermonde and our relatives. Abalona's large contemporary rooms, lovely country setting and accommodating hosts are what made our stay so pleasant. We also enjoyed the daily breakfast. Abalona was the perfect selection for a "jumping off point" near Dendermonde for visiting relatives while mixing in a little tourism: Brussels, Gent, Brugge, and Amsterdam were all comfortable drives. All of the rooms were modern with large bathrooms. And, the vineyard and koi pond on the property make for relaxing views. Parking is free.
5 out of 5
by Fantastic from Dendemonde

Outstanding Accommodation

Posted Jun 23, 2014 on Hotels
Excellent, high standard accommodation throughout. Varied fulfilling breakfast. Generously sized high quality modern rooms with hospitality to match. Many thanks to Inga and Kim and will be our first choice to stay when we next travel to Belgium or France.