Ratings based on 196 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the train station

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: Close to train station
Location: We didn't find the area around the hotel to be very nice, but the tram runs right in front of the hotel and takes you to the city center.
The room was clean and pleasant, within walking distance of train station. The tram to city center was very convenient, but we just walked - maybe 20 minutes.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel central good for a base to travel about

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness and excellent breakfast.
Cons: Maybe if they know when late guests are checking in have someone on the desk to greet them so that the noise and disturbance can be kept to a minimum.
Location: Close to station and tram line just outside, easy to get around and in to the centre of Ghent.
Overall our stay at this hotel was good apart from Thursday and Friday night when noisy guests came in very late in the morning and made a load of noise. No receptionist at night after 11pm so hard to control. Due respect to the management they have emailed us and apologised again for the disturbance and given us a refund on part of our stay. Yes I would stay again, place was clean, tidy and breakfast was excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grantham, England

Nice hotel close to transport links

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Pros: The location and cleanliness are best. A good continental breakfast.
Cons: The room was a bit cold and the thermostat didn't seem to work
Location: About 25 minute walk to Ghent centre but there is a tram stop outside and for 3 euro you will be in the centre in about ten minutes.
This is a great stopover location either for Brussels or if visiting Ghent. Its located near to the railway (but not next door) and there is a tram stop adjacent if travelling into Ghent centre.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to area I was visiting

Posted Nov 18, 2016 on Hotels
Hotels.com had failed to make the reservation at the hotel when I booked it in August. If I did not have a mobile with me to call the UK HQ I would have still been standing in reception as the receptionist was not interested in any of my paperwork showing the confirmation. Lucky they had two rooms available. Pillows on the bed were not to my liking, too thick and square lick a cushion. I was so tired though after walking all day around the lovely city I soon fell asleep. No where to dry a wet coat also had trouble drying some wet socks. Other than these issues a nice hotel
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 29, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Top rating for Best Western Chamade

Posted Oct 28, 2016 on Hotels
Best Western Chamade gets a top rating as it was well deserved. I chose this hotel mainly for its proximity to the train station. But it provided much more than that as it was the quintessential great hotel. Less than 5 minutes from Sint Pieters central station, I felt at home. The bed was very comfortable, very spacious room for the price. The tram to the city center is right in front of the hotel. And the breakfast buffet was so good it could have won an award. Also the reception was very helpful and answered all my questions. My next stay in Ghent will have me staying at Best Western Chamade.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and calm hotel

Posted Oct 28, 2016
The room was clean and big enough. They have a lot of options from breakfast. The tram stops in from of the hotel. I'll totally recommend it
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good, reasonably priced hotel, handy for transport

Posted Oct 15, 2016 on Hotels
Good, reasonably priced single room five minutes' walk from the railway station, and 20 minutes' walk to the historic centre - also a tram stop right outside the hotel for a tram to take you directly to the centre. Tea-making facilities a welcome bonus, and a good breakfast included int he price. Friendly and helpful personnel - my two (very minor) problems with the room were dealt with immediately. Only problem, on the morning after my second night, was being woken up by neighbours who got up at 6am; I could hear them talking and stomping around etc so couldn't get back to sleep. I don't think they were making an unreasonable amount of noise (so I couldn't complain) but it's an indication the acoustic insulation isn't great.
4 out of 5
by sarah l

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 31, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Robert from Fayetteville, GA

Our Stay at the Best Western Hotel Chamade

Posted Aug 27, 2016 on Hotels
This is a good basic hotel within walking distance from the Sint Pieters train station. We walked from the station to the hotel (about 200 yards away). We took the train from the Brussels airport directly to Ghent. It took just under an hour and only made three stops (in Brussels) before leaving for Ghent. The hotel receptionist let us check in a little bit early. We explored the surrounding area on foot later in the day. We took the tram (which stops directly in front of the hotel) to the sights in the original medieval part of the city. (We bought a tram pass at the hotel.) The hotel staff is friendly and helpful with directions and ideas about what to do and where to eat. The breakfast offered by the hotel is good; a typical continental that is fairly common in the States (several types of breads and sweet rolls, scrambled and hard boiled eggs, bacon, yogurt, cereals, fruit, etc. The view of the city from the breakfast room was very nice. The room was adequate for three adults; good air conditioning, clean bathroom, TV with several different languages available (including the BBC), great Wi-Fi and internet.