Ratings based on 108 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London UK

Excellent location and very nice hotel

Posted Jun 19, 2017
In terms of the location, the hotel is excellent as it's within walking distance of the main attractions. From the train station, you can catch a tram (no 2) and it's about 7 stops. Upon arrival, we were greeted by a very friendly lady at the reception. We stayed in a triple room on the ground floor of the hotel. The room was very comfortable and cleaned every day. Tea and coffee facilities are available. There is an Irish bar and restaurant at the back of the hotel. It looked nice, although we didn't have enough time to try it. We were allowed to keep our luggage after check out for free as we had an evening train. All in all, very pleased with our stay and so highly recommended : )
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 16, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Stephanie

Happy with everything

Posted Jan 16, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is in a great location and quiet, and the staff very friendly. cheap parking place, not far from the hotel
5 out of 5
by Danielle

Posted Dec 22, 2016 on Hotels
They offered us a bigger room even though we paid for the smaller one and then let us stay in the same room when we stayed another night! Lovely room and very comfortable bed- Although the only thing was that the mattress was two separate pieces and kept sliding apart, we kept falling in the crack! The staff was extremely nice and very helpful. Nice hot shower!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from London

Decent quiet hotel, good location, friendly staff

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: Character, staff, location and value for money. Easy to get to from the train station too which is a bonus if you have kids in tow.
Cons: The one thing that could improve is breakfast which was a bit uninspiring. If this was better it would be a full 5 rating.
Location: Very central. Shopping, sightseeing, and the canal are all on your doorstep.
Really pleased with this hotel. Our stay for the Christmas market. We stayed in room 7 which has the adjoining rooms which was perfect as we have two boys 3 and 5 years old. The hotel has character and is well located for all you could want in Ghent. It has a large bathroom with sunken bath which was a fun feature too. Staff were great, really friendly and helpful. Irish bar: I'm not usually a fan of Irish bars but the one attached to the hotel was very good and had a decent atmosphere. We ate dinner there one night and the Steak and burgers were really nice and it felt very family friendly. So, I would recommend that too. Ghent felt very safe and easy to navigate in the couple of days we had and it's very easy to get to from Brussels. We will be back!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 3, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Pros: Excellent breakfast in the adjoining pub. Nice quiet street but if you're driving make sure to book a parking space.
Cons: No hot water in the morning but this was relatively quickly fixed.
Location: Gent cathedral is very impressive.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 8, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from UK

One Night Stop-over in Ghent

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Pros: The staff, the staff and the staff! Also really good location, short walk across the canal to the historic centre.
Cons: The room was just what we were after, well decorated and comfortable. The only fault was the lack of A/C or fans - it was a hot August night!
Location: Good location, through the pub and you were canal-side. Short walk and you're in the historic centre. Car parking was, again, a short walk away.
Firstly, the welcome when we arrived was warm and genuine, a really good start. We were given great advice on what to see and do for the day we'd set aside to look around Ghent. We had the breakfast, it was Saturday so the buffet, it was really tasty and good value. Again the staff on duty were fantastic, they couldn't do enough and looked after us really well.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful location; huge room for price

Posted Aug 10, 2016 on Hotels
Booked the double twin room last minute. The room was at top of narrow, scary (but fun) stairs. Top floor is unsuitable for people who cannot easily climb scary stairs. This room was huge and clean compared to others we stayed at for similar price (about 85 Euro including fees). The bathroom was also huge and clean. Free bottled water was provided. We slept with windows open and my son got bitten by plenty of mosquitoes, I didn't. Best part was excellent location to the beautiful parts of Ghent, which is an easy 5-8 minute walk. Neighborhood felt very safe and quiet. Hotel allowed us to park in their small one-car enclosed garage for 10 extra Euro, which was well worth it. Our small SUV fit, but just barely; larger vehicle might not. If you cannot get a garage, you might need to park about 2 blocks away. Checkout was 11 am, which meant we had to remove car at 11 am, so that was unfortunate.