Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from London

Decent quiet hotel, good location, friendly staff

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: Character, staff, location and value for money. Easy to get to from the train station too which is a bonus if you have kids in tow.
Cons: The one thing that could improve is breakfast which was a bit uninspiring. If this was better it would be a full 5 rating.
Location: Very central. Shopping, sightseeing, and the canal are all on your doorstep.
Really pleased with this hotel. Our stay for the Christmas market. We stayed in room 7 which has the adjoining rooms which was perfect as we have two boys 3 and 5 years old. The hotel has character and is well located for all you could want in Ghent. It has a large bathroom with sunken bath which was a fun feature too. Staff were great, really friendly and helpful. Irish bar: I'm not usually a fan of Irish bars but the one attached to the hotel was very good and had a decent atmosphere. We ate dinner there one night and the Steak and burgers were really nice and it felt very family friendly. So, I would recommend that too. Ghent felt very safe and easy to navigate in the couple of days we had and it's very easy to get to from Brussels. We will be back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Pros: Excellent breakfast in the adjoining pub. Nice quiet street but if you're driving make sure to book a parking space.
Cons: No hot water in the morning but this was relatively quickly fixed.
Location: Gent cathedral is very impressive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from UK

One Night Stop-over in Ghent

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Pros: The staff, the staff and the staff! Also really good location, short walk across the canal to the historic centre.
Cons: The room was just what we were after, well decorated and comfortable. The only fault was the lack of A/C or fans - it was a hot August night!
Location: Good location, through the pub and you were canal-side. Short walk and you're in the historic centre. Car parking was, again, a short walk away.
Firstly, the welcome when we arrived was warm and genuine, a really good start. We were given great advice on what to see and do for the day we'd set aside to look around Ghent. We had the breakfast, it was Saturday so the buffet, it was really tasty and good value. Again the staff on duty were fantastic, they couldn't do enough and looked after us really well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Basingstoke UK

Fab hotel near to Ghent centre

Posted May 6, 2016
Lovely comfortable hotel tucked away near the town centre. Our room (20) was on the top floor and was very quiet. The room was spacious, quirky and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Amsterdam, NL

Great environment, close to everything

Posted Apr 28, 2016
Great little boutique hotel, easy walking to central area, friendly staff and enormous bath made it a great stay for our family
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

A good option--once you get in.

Posted Jun 14, 2015
Pros: location and room
Cons: Provide parking or clearer directions on parking--I got a 30 Euro ticket.
Location: Ghent is gorgeous, with tons of things to see and do.
Our arrival was a bit frustrating since you can't easily get in, in order to check in. All the doors are locked and there's no way to enter unless someone exits or they ring you in. We got lucky because someone returned to the hotel and we followed them in. When we went to the reception, and waited while a women discussed/complained about a problem. As soon as the conversation ended the receptionist, an Irish guy, walked away. I was stunned--we were waiting to check in and he walked away. He exited the reception area and saw us--he asked if we were waiting to check in and, when I said yes, he returned to check us in. After that, we had a key (an host to goodness brass key) to the hotel and all was easy. Overall it's a good and reasonable place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Mark from Kent, England

Close to shops and Central Ghent Old Town

Posted Nov 1, 2013
We were welcomed by a very friendly receptionist called Jenny who directed us into the hotel's car park (only big enough for three cars, so book ahead. 10 euro per night) Hotel and room very clean and tidy. Nicely decorated room and recently re-fitted en suite bathroom with sunken Villeroy & Boch bath, separate shower etc. We had the family room big enough for two adults and two children. We had large comfortable double and children had two comfortable single beds. A door separates children's room from main room. Nice and quiet at night. The room rate did not include breakfast, so we had very nice breakfasts in the adjoining Patrick Foley's Irish Bar. The bar (not the hotel) does smell a little bit cigarette smokey though. All in all, a nice conveniently located place to stay for a city break in beautiful Ghent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jane from Newbury, West Berkshire, UK

Perfect hotel for families and fantastic staff

Posted Jan 3, 2013
Pros: the staff were so helpful and friendly and it was so central the children didn't have to walk far
Cons: not much view from the bedroom window
Location: very central, quiet, secure car park only 5 mins walk away
Really helpful staff, very child friendly and a great location. The family room was very large and the beds very comfortable. Food excellent, would highly recommend this hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Caribbean

No Boutique hotel, but a fancy hostel

Posted Nov 24, 2010
I came down on a business trip and was suggested this boutique hotel. The images online looked great and very classy so I had no suspicion of this recently opened "hotel" would be more like a hostel. Arriving at 8:30 PM the front door was already closed and after I stood in the rain for 10 minutes the bartender of the bar adjacent to the hotel opened the door for me. Do not expect any Reception, Room service or Concierge services. This is an old renovated house and I had more a feeling being in a fancy student house. Rooms are spacious, TV is large, but with UK channels, bathroom spacious, but sink very tiny and bathroom amenities are not provided. They do have the industrial soap dispenser attached to the wall, which looks very tacky. The bed very soft. Internet for free, the code I got handwritten on a beercoaster (from the bartender) but next to the table there was no electricity connection so luckly my cable was long enough to pull it across the room. To summarize this "hotel" should not be called boutique, it is not for business travelers, but I can imagine that if you come to visit Ghent on a leisure basis you could very much enjoy this little hostel. The Irish pub is quite cosy (you can smoke inside so watch out) and the food served is very tasteful. Staff is very friendly and goes the extra miles to satisfy your special requests. Enjoy Ghent!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Accueillant

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Malgré le bruit le matin des chambres voisines dû à une mauvaise isolation phonique de l hôtel, ainsi que la non mise a disposition du parking comme évoqué sur le site expedia, le personnel est très a l écoute, nous a orienté vers les lieux que l on souhaitait, et d une grande amabilité.