Ratings based on 678 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, charming staff, excellent location.

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Pros: Location, Staff , Ambiance
Cons: When booked through Expedia I got the impression Breakfast was included but turned out not to be the case and at 14 euros was quite expensive.
Location: Lots of lovely shops and cobbled streets to wander round. The castle was interesting, a canal boat trip a must. So many great bars.
Had the best greeting on arrival from Jolanda who also checked us out. She was friendly and efficient, the door man Jeff was also a real character and hive of knowledge. Room was large, with a gigantic comfy bed. Didn't eat in the hotel as there were so many bars and restraints on the door step. Would definitely like to return to Ghent and The Marriott.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney australia

Perfect location, great lounge and wonderful staff

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Jolanda at check-in especially was amazingly nice and helpful. A wonderful experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ny ny

Great hotel in superb location.

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Lovely big room in perfect location. Gorgeous city to visit and great service. Nice fluffy towels and vvvvery comfy bed. Pretty flowers in lobby and orchids in the bedroom. Wonderful. Planning a return visit!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Centrally located right on the river

Posted Dec 5, 2016
This was an excellent hotel and the experience was brilliant from the minute I arrived until I left. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and the ease of check-in was amazing. I was in my room within ten minutes of arriving. I was attending a dinner in a restaurant the evening I arrived and I was given very clear instructions on how to reach the restaurant. In fact it turned out to be two buildings away from the hotel, something I didn't know when I booked it. I would definitely return for a longer stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Really good fandango

Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Hotels
Really good
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 6, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 28, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was overbooked and my pre paid in full reservation was not honoured on the first night. The Marriott staff booked me into an alternate hotel in deerlijk which is 35 km away from Ghent. They covered the taxis both ways however this was a huge inconvenience. #veryunhappytraveller
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel in Previous Medieval Town

Posted Sep 19, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice modern hotel. Large & very clean rooms. Architecture very unusual. Medieval facade on one side. Original modern architecture inside. Ghent good for eating & sightseeing. And chocolate of course.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Nice modern hotel within walking distance of it al

Posted Aug 29, 2016
This hotel is very modern and quite luxury for Belgium and Europe in general. It reminds me a lot of the Marriot's I have stayed in the USA. The staff was nice, and the ammenities were nice as well albeit quite pricey. The room was not to expensive but the breakfast was 22 euro, way over priced if you ask me.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 28, 2016 on Hotels