Ratings based on 123 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great hotel for a short visit to Ghent

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Pros: The hotel is very centrally located and easy to walk to everything. The rooms are clean and reasonably sized with very comfy beds. Breakfast is very good and served on the third floor, while it was too cool for this now, in the Summer there would be the option to sit outside. The staff were very kind and helpful and all spoke excellent English. We were only there for a long weekend, but we enjoyed it. Each night we had a nightcap in the hotel bar, which was really good. The hotel held our luggage and arranged a taxi for us on the last day so that we could continue our sightseeing. The cleaning staff were amazing and managed to clean our rooms while we were at breakfast. And, they were cheerful and friendly. Really nice.
Cons: While it is next to the river, there seem to be only a view rooms that actually allow you to see the river and ours wasn't one of them. There were three of us, my partner and me and his mother. His mother was given a room with a double bed while we were given one with two singles pushed together. Luckily, we traded rooms to make this work better. While you can't hear the outside world, which is great, internal hallway noise can be very loud (particularly from late night drinkers). Not the hotel's fault, but something to be aware of.
Location: This hotel is very close to the center of historic Ghent without being right in the middle. We walked everywhere and never needed a taxi or tram.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tel Aviv

Good hotel in perfect location

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Pros: Location was just right. Clean, pleasant service. Lovely breakfast room on the roof.
Cons: We had no complaints. Even parking was convenient.
Location: Walking distance from everything
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Hotel with Perfect Location

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: location, breakfast
Cons: soundproofness
Location: location is very good, everything is close
Ghent River Hotel has a very convenient location, rooms are clean, good size, Hotel serves very good breakfast, beds are comfortable, hotel has business corner
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent, England

Good location, friendly staff

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: Location, friendly staff
Cons: Soundproofing rooms
Location: Gravensteen castle about five minutes walk away. Design museum, chocolate shops, high street full of shops very nearby. Next to the Vrijdagmarkt.
Very close to the centre, lots of sights and amenities within walking distance. Short ride on the tram from Ghent St Pieter's station. Room was good size, with high ceilings. View of the road outside, but window was high so you couldn't really see out of it anyway. Good base for exploring. Can easily hear people in other rooms and the maids, but this wasn't a big deal. Bed was king size and comfy. Shower over bath, easy to get a good temperature. Staff were helpful and friendly. Was able to leave luggage in the hotel as we arrived a lot earlier than the 3pm check-in. The check-in seems to be a strict 3pm. Was also able to leave luggage after the 11am check-out. Overall was a pleasant hotel, in a good location. Would recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Posted Aug 2, 2016
nice hotel within walking distance to old city. clean minimalist
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

comfortable city centre hotel

Posted May 16, 2016
Pros: Quiet, pleasant ground floor bar terrace, stand alone breakfast room on 3rd floor with outlook on to river and roofs of new and old city.
Cons: Nothing
Location: very close to city centre - esp. Friday Market Square. many old buildings, churches, cathedral and amazing Altarpiece by Van Eyk brothers
Delightful bedroom- brick walls & high ceiling not hiding the fact this was once a steam bakery!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 7, 2016
Great location right down from the large market with many stores, restaurants and pubs
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel in a perfect position

Posted Mar 20, 2016
Excellent and friendly staff. Clean and comfortable bedrooms. Lovely breakfast
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from switzerland

wonderful canal side hotel in beautiful Ghent

Posted Feb 20, 2016
in town for work I was wonderfully surprised by this ex warehouse on the canal. Great room wonderful chocolate kind staff. Definitely would return here.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from pgh

Terrible

Posted Oct 17, 2015
Horrible noise can hear everything. Rude staff. But close to everything.