Ratings based on 424 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Hotel could not be closer to the Centre

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Pros: The sympathetic construction of the old and new building making it an unusual but pleasing hotel to stay in.
Cons: The parking charges were not correctly stated in the Expedia description stating 10 Euros per night in fact they were 26 Euros per night!
Location: The location was superb visits to the Cathedral, Castle and Boat trip on the canals were very worthwhile
The hotel was very convenient for the purpose of our visit to tour the centre of Ghent the room was in the old part of the building overlooking the canal. Therefore it had a lot of the old features of the building coupled with modern facilities that were excellent, the room was clean and well appointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good location

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Pros: cleanliness and price, and locality
Cons: pretty good hotel for a few nights.
Location: great location...boat trip great.. views from the belfry good...lift up part way.
We have just returned from this very nice hotel in Ghent. It met all our expectations for a mid price hotel. rooms clean and large with a lovely en-suite. Breakfast was included, and had a lovely selection. some of the rooms were in the old part of the hotel, and some in the new part, and as we had one of each, they were very comparable. Staff were very helpful and spoke good English, so this helped. Small bar area downstairs, and we found a lovely place to eat round the corner called Savarin, which had the authentic Flemish stew on the menu....delicious.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Hotel

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Great location and great view. Rooms are large and clean. Higher end hotel
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great value hotel in a great location

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed before, friendly and helpful staff. Super location. Only slight niggle was a bathroom that was not as clean as it should have been but this was quickly rectified.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great hotel for a short visit to Ghent

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Pros: The hotel is very centrally located and easy to walk to everything. The rooms are clean and reasonably sized with very comfy beds. Breakfast is very good and served on the third floor, while it was too cool for this now, in the Summer there would be the option to sit outside. The staff were very kind and helpful and all spoke excellent English. We were only there for a long weekend, but we enjoyed it. Each night we had a nightcap in the hotel bar, which was really good. The hotel held our luggage and arranged a taxi for us on the last day so that we could continue our sightseeing. The cleaning staff were amazing and managed to clean our rooms while we were at breakfast. And, they were cheerful and friendly. Really nice.
Cons: While it is next to the river, there seem to be only a view rooms that actually allow you to see the river and ours wasn't one of them. There were three of us, my partner and me and his mother. His mother was given a room with a double bed while we were given one with two singles pushed together. Luckily, we traded rooms to make this work better. While you can't hear the outside world, which is great, internal hallway noise can be very loud (particularly from late night drinkers). Not the hotel's fault, but something to be aware of.
Location: This hotel is very close to the center of historic Ghent without being right in the middle. We walked everywhere and never needed a taxi or tram.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tel Aviv

Good hotel in perfect location

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Pros: Location was just right. Clean, pleasant service. Lovely breakfast room on the roof.
Cons: We had no complaints. Even parking was convenient.
Location: Walking distance from everything
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient, comfortable and clean.

Posted Oct 8, 2016 on Hotels
Everything was as I expected including a quiet, comfortable room. Excellent breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Hotel with Perfect Location

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: location, breakfast
Cons: soundproofness
Location: location is very good, everything is close
Ghent River Hotel has a very convenient location, rooms are clean, good size, Hotel serves very good breakfast, beds are comfortable, hotel has business corner
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent, England

Good location, friendly staff

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: Location, friendly staff
Cons: Soundproofing rooms
Location: Gravensteen castle about five minutes walk away. Design museum, chocolate shops, high street full of shops very nearby. Next to the Vrijdagmarkt.
Very close to the centre, lots of sights and amenities within walking distance. Short ride on the tram from Ghent St Pieter's station. Room was good size, with high ceilings. View of the road outside, but window was high so you couldn't really see out of it anyway. Good base for exploring. Can easily hear people in other rooms and the maids, but this wasn't a big deal. Bed was king size and comfy. Shower over bath, easy to get a good temperature. Staff were helpful and friendly. Was able to leave luggage in the hotel as we arrived a lot earlier than the 3pm check-in. The check-in seems to be a strict 3pm. Was also able to leave luggage after the 11am check-out. Overall was a pleasant hotel, in a good location. Would recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Posted Aug 2, 2016
nice hotel within walking distance to old city. clean minimalist