Ratings based on 89 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

basic

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: its near venue i was attending an event and so only nearby option unless use tram into venue
Cons: food gone downhill at both dinner and breakfast. Steak weren't steak but chunks of meat, often at buffet had to wait for ages as refilled trays. Too pricey in general
Location: catch a tram too central gent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2016 by Birgit De Peuter, Hotel Management
Dear Derek, Thank you for your score en valuable feedback. We have passed on the comments regarding dinner and breakfast to the concerned department for urgent follow up. We apologize for any inconvenience caused during your stay. We hope to welcome you on a next occasion to prove that this is not our normal standard. Kind regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from po33 3tn

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Pros: every was goos
Cons: the roads around are a bit caotic but that will be down to the council
Location: lots to do this hotel services the GHENT EXPO
the hotel was excellent, staff friendly and helpful they explained that there was a music festival in the city, and we could get there on the local tram.2Euros great night. hotel clean and efficient
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Carl, 5-star score, thank you so much! We are pleased to read that you have had a pleasant stay with us & appreciated our services. The works around the hotel are indeed due down to the council but are meant to improve the area which we are looking forward to. We hope to see you soon! Kind Regard
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Met Expectations

Posted Apr 1, 2016
Hotel is clean, quiet, and safe. Outside of Ghent with a 5 minute walk to the tram which takes you right into the center of Ghent in less than 15 minutes. We felt perfectly safe during the 5 minute walk (very well lit) and on the tram either day or night. Would stay here again to avoid the higher hotel prices down town!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brechin

Nice hotel in the middle of a building site!

Posted Dec 1, 2015
Pros: Location. But only if you're attending an event at Flanders Expo like I was, or a big fan of Ikea!
Cons: The surrounding area. A building site surrounded by motorways...
Location: Flanders Expo, Ikea and the tram into Ghent. That's it!
I chose to stay here because I was attending the Davis Cup final, and the hotel is right next to the venue. Apart from that, I don't have much to say other than "meh".
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Basic hotel - ok for a brief stop over

Posted Oct 6, 2015
Pros: Convenience to the main road
Cons: Decor, allocating the type of room that has been requested, providing access to move bags from car park to reception
We arrived late at night and although the hotel is close to the main road there is a one way system through what can only be described as a building site to access the car park. Having parked we discovered there is no lift or walkway to the hotel reception from the car park, only a flight of stairs. Not ideal in the dark, with two dogs and a large and heavy bag. I had booked a double room and after checking in and entering the third floor room we found it to be a twin. My husband and I were too tired by this time to go back to reception and ask for another room so we put up with it. The room was clean enough but a bit basic and tired and decor was outdated. I can't comment on food or other services as we left without eating or using any other facility.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wales

Posted Sep 22, 2015
Pros: relaxing experience and excellent breakfast
Cons: Access to hotel difficult and free car park would help
Location: great access to Ghent via tramway
very efficient and helpful staff and able to answer any queries well. excellent organisation of stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel in a quite area

Posted Sep 14, 2015
Friendly staff and very helpful. Quite hotel and good rooms. Food good too
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from The Hague

Typical Holiday Inn but not a 4 star hotel

Posted Aug 30, 2015
Pros: Very nice and helpful staff.
Cons: A light menu served in the afternoon for people who arrive after lunch would be nice. The décor could be updated.
Location: There is nothing nearby except for an IKEA. You have to drive or take a tram to do anything.
I did the mystery booking for a 4 star hotel and was disappointed that rather than an Intercontinental hotel I was placed at a Holiday Inn. This is a typical Holiday Inn with modest accommodation and a restaurant. The décor was outdated but the room was comfortable. The staff was very friendly. It's located far away from anything except an IKEA and the restaurant closes between lunch and dinner so you can't eat until 18:30 with nowhere locally to purchase food. The restaurant was good quality but with both meals I had the meat was overcooked. Generous breakfast buffet. Access from the ring road is very confusing. Free wifi throughout the hotel but had to pay a daily rate for parking and breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northampton

Very clean, modern hotel with excellent staff

Posted Aug 18, 2015
Pros: The building is quirky, with a huge atrium, which looked impressive. Rooms were spotless, service very good.
Cons: The access to the building is rather complicated - a ring system, which we found quite difficult to navigate.
Stayed with a large family for one night, enjoyed our stay. Staff was welcoming and friendly. The toilet was blocked, but the manager was called and sorted it within 15 minutes. Could not get out to look for a restaurant due to a huge thunderstorm, so dined in A'la Carte... This was quite pricey, nevertheless the food quality or service could not be faulted. We did decide not to have breakfast in the hotel, however, as we did not believe EUR 15 to be good value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient on our drive North to IJmuiden

Posted Aug 1, 2015
Pros: Convenience
Cons: Food
Location: We were there to sleep.
Nothing special to report. Food a bit disappointing in the evening.