Ratings based on 110 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Virginia

No third bed.

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Pros: Staff was friendly and apologetic for the lack of third bed. It was close to everything I wanted to see.
Cons: There is no AC in the room.
Location: Everything you want to do in Ghent is near by.
The hotel is located outside the Gravensteen Castle which is beautiful. Very close to the heart of Ghent with a great location for restaurants and shopping. The tram stop is about 100 yds. away from the entrance of the hotel. As in most hotels in small European towns the room was small we had three people with a request for a third bed when I booked the room 3 months ago, the bed was not set up upon our arrival. After requesting the bed we where told that our room was too small for the third bed and they would see if another room was available. Another room was not available and we had to squeeze the third bed making the room even smaller. Good new is they did not charge the 20 euros/night for the third bed. This is a problem we had at each hotel besides in one city. If you need a third bed make sure you tell them upon check in because it will not be there when you get to your room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 28, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Ideal location with charm and castle view

Posted May 28, 2015
Pros: Location could not be better for touring the city with easy access to many restaurant and bars.
Cons: We did not find any areas that would need attention.This hotel met and exceeded all our expectations for the price range.
Location: The location is ideal for touring the whole area by walking. We enjoyed several great meals. Try breakfast at True Beans and the Gooderie Cafe on Jan
The hotel is across the street from Gravensteen Castle with some rooms having a direct view. The lobby and common areas has lovely charm and architectural features. Our first room #23 faced the castle. However, our lock was not working properly so the next day we were moved to room 56 on the backside. This room was lager and quieter. There where two large windows for light. Rooms were very clean and with good shower facilities. Staff were helpful and friendly. There is a locked room to store luggage. Location is easily reached by tram number #1 from the train statin. We chose to walk following the tram line. About half way we stopped for a lovely lunch at Cafe Caffee. The tram stop is across the street on the side of the Gravensteen Castle and runs very frequently.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good locations but very tiny.

Posted May 26, 2015
I know enough to expect small rooms, but out of all the hotels I've stayed at in Belgium, this was by far the smallest. The shower was also extremely small, you couldn't shower without touching the walls, and it leaked. Other than that, it was a great place. The staff was nice, the beds were comfortable, the locations was good, and it was clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Centralt hotell

Posted May 17, 2015 on Hotels
Centralt beläget hotell, rent rum och trevlig personal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Minisemester

Posted May 16, 2015 on Hotels
Ett centralt beläget hotel. Rummen var rena men hotellet var lite slitet. Sköna sängar och kuddar. Kommer att bo där igen om vi har vägarna förbi Ghent igen.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bedfordshire

Super Location

Posted May 14, 2015
Pros: The room was clean and a good size with a good supply of tea and coffee. If you need anything else you could find it in the mini bar.
Location: Central location for visiting as a tourist. The tram stop is 100 yards away.Good restaurants and bars are close by as is the tourist info centre.
I have been to Gent on many occasions for work but this was the first time for pleasure. The hotel is in a super location to visit all of the sites in the old city and close to eating places to suit all pockets. Not the most well appointed hotel but perfectly adequate for a good nights sleep and freshen up after a hard day sightseeing.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by a from Ravenstein

Niet met de rolstoel naar Hotel Gravensteen.

Posted May 8, 2015 on Hotels
Het hotel ligt midden in het centrum. Het heeft slechts enkele parkeerplaatsen waardoor in een op 10 minuten loopafstand gelegen parkeergarage geparkeerd moet worden. Vriendelijk personeel die een beter toegankelijke hotelkamer heeft gegeven dan oorspronkelijk bedoeld was in verband met het feit dat er een rolstoelgebruiker bij was. Helaas moesten we toen wel kiezen voor een tweepersoonsbed in plaats van twee eenpersoons bedden. Het hotel zou ik niet aanraden voor rolstoelgebruikers, zeker niet als er helemaal niet gelopen kan worden. De receptie is alleen via trapjes te bereiken. Het ontbijt was boven verwachting.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Robert from Parramatta

Guest review

Posted May 3, 2015 on Hotels
The cleanliness was excellent. The staff very obliging and efficient? the Gravensteen itself fitted in well with its surroundings and is a most pleasant place to stay. I would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Keurig

Posted Apr 26, 2015 on Hotels
Goed hotel, parkeren on premise en zeer nette kamer.