Ratings based on 364 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: This is a lovely hotel ideal location. A short walk from the centre.
Cons: Unfortunately, there wasn't a compliments tray of tea or coffee which was a shame, but there is an accessible bar and food is available for 24 hours.
Location: A great location. Near to the centre. A tram stop both ways outside. A 10 minute walk to the centre and to the see the sights of a beautiful city.
The room was a decent size, though the bathroom was a bit tight, but manageable. There were toiletries and towels available in the room and also a hairdryer if required. The wardrobe was quite small but adequate for us. The wifi was excellent and once we had accessed it, there was no problem in re-joining it every time we walked back into the hotel. Arriving into Gent St Pieters railway station you can get on a tram which stops directly outside the hotel. Numbers 1, 21, and 22 will get you there, it is approximately 6 stops away. The Hotel reception is staffed 24 hours and the staff on reception were all very nice, helpful and friendly. There is an accessible bar and food is available for 24 hours and if you want an early breakfast it's available from 4am.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2017 by Patriek Deruddere | General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, All of us at ibis Gent Centrum Opera would like to offer our sincere thanks for your delightful review. Kind regards,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Rather basic hotel

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Not my usual style of hotel: when I arrived it was full of tri-athletes.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2017 by General Manager ibis Gent Centrum Opera, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Ibis Gent Centrum Opera. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At ibis, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, helpful staff

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Well located for Ghent's three must-see's: The Altarpiece, the Fine Arts Museum, and the charming central area near Gravensteen Castle.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 14, 2017 by Patriek Deruddere | General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, We were thrilled to read your 5 star review about our hotel. Kind regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Location

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Stayed one nite..Nice bar tho not open till 5pm..Smaller rooms than usual Ibis..Clean and tidy..10 min walk to centre..Parked around corner in public car park..15 euro for 24hrs
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, All of us at ibis Gent Centrum Opera would like to offer our sincere thanks for your delightful review. Kind regards,
3 out of 5
by Ramon

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 18, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Fardad

Convenient location

Posted Dec 26, 2016 on Hotels
The bathroom was so small you could barely move. There was mold in the shower. The room was very small and the bed was quite uncomfortable. The breakfast was great and the staff were very friendly and helpful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Adequate hotel, reasonable price, good location

Posted Dec 20, 2016 on Hotels
Lots of construction going on inside and outside the building, which is very noisy. Be sure to ask for a quiet room away from construction. The hotel is located near the center of town and close to most attractions. Easy to get to the train station as well.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: The car park was right under the hotel.
Cons: Tiny rooms
Location: Good central location
2 staff when we checked in however one didn't pay any attention to the queue. The room rates were expensive considering no breakfast was included.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 17, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Russell from Belgium

Short walk to Town

Posted Aug 16, 2016 on Hotels
It was only one night but it was really relaxing, good distance from town.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you! We are happy you could relax well and had a good night sleep.