Ratings based on 166 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Excellent hotel in great location

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Happy with the stay. Staff were very friendly. The hotel was in a great location, right in the centre of the city. But we had some trouble finding the entrance, it was not clear where or how to get in the hotel. But other than that, all was well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2016 by Fred De Deken - GM, Hotel Management
Many thanks for your review. the easiest way to find the hotel is to go to Hoogpoort 52, which is the back of the hotel. The front area is pedestrian, ok to reach by foot or by taxi. Hope to see you back At Novotel Gent
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Croydon UK

Wonderful City

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Pros: Breakfasts and the pool
Cons: Storage facilities for clothes and items
Location: Central to everything. Lots of churches, shops, restaurants and bars. Lovely canal running through the middle and a spooky castle close by!
We were so lucky with the weather all week so the grand children spent much time in the lovely hotel pool. We all love Ghent as there is such a lovely atmosphere and it doesn't get as busy as Bruges. Novotel does great breakfasts to set you up for the day and the rooms are clean but rather basic. Lovely central position is wonderful and there is a small car park if you are lucky enough to find a space. The hotel is very child friendly!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Very good location just beside all the touristic attractions
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Poole

Great Staff, really helpful

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Pros: The staff . All brilliant polite and helpful.
Cons: Breakfast is a bit squashed
Location: The whole of ancient Gent is within walking distance.
The hotel is in a great location in the centre of Gent. The staff are really helpful, when we arrived at 12pm I asked if we were to early to check in, he replied "you are never to early to check in, or to late to check out". We had a nice room, with pull out bed for the kids. Unfortunatelly our son was very sick in the night (nothing to do with the hotel), the staff were really helpful and provided new bedding and removed the old bedding with a smile, not bad for 3 am. Recommend the hotel for families and anyone else really!.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth Australia

Hotel has all the facilities you need.

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Staff friendly on check in and room was great with all mod cons close to everything.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Rooms too hot.

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Rooms too hot. AC not adequate. If you open the window then the mosquitos get in. A pity as otherwise a superb location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Pedestrian friendly not car friendly

Posted Jun 24, 2016
Locating the hotel and parking my car was a total nightmare. Hotel staff made up for it. Recommend for tourism not for business travel. This is only because of the difficult downtown location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very central but difficult to reach by car

Posted Mar 27, 2016
Pros: Comfortable lounge and bar area
Hotel staff and facilities were very good. this was my first visit to Gent and I travelled by car - never again!! The city is designed for walking, cycling or trams and car drivers are made to feel unwelcome
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CYPRUS

GOOD HOTEL, ON THE RIGHT SPOT FOR SISE

Posted Dec 7, 2015
Pros: SEE ABOV
Cons: NOTIFY WEBSITES MORE DETAILED ABOUT PET POLICY
Location: IT PERFECT FOR EVERYTHING: SIGHT SEEING, MUSEA, SHOPS, RESTAURANTS, BARS ETC ETC
HOTEL IS PERFECTLY SITUATED, RIGHT IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ANCIENT TOWN. GOOD RESTAURANTS AND BARS AT YOU FINGERTIPS. (GENT) IS PERFECT FOR A SHORT CITY BREAK. MY ONLY DISAPPOINTMENT IS THAT WE HAD TO PAY FOR OUR (SMALL) PET. PETS ARE ALLOWED BUT IT STATES NOWHERE "AT SURCHARGE".
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Apollo Beach, FL

Modern, elegant, in the middle of the town.

Posted Dec 2, 2015
Centrally located, clean and modern, a really pleasant experience. Friendly and knowledgeable staff. Would highly recommend.