Ratings based on 202 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Opulent Stay in Ghent

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Extravagant, opulent and strikingly decadent, this hotel was the ideal place to celebrate our engagement. The excellent location, only a few minutes walk from the centre of the city, combined with the comfortable, spacious and meticulously clean room, made our stay perfect.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very comfortable central hotel

Posted Dec 17, 2016
Pros: Reception is very grand and the furnishings plush. Didn't have breakfast, but had a drink in the bar one evening. The room had a lovely bathroom
Cons: Only criticism is the rather lurid colour palette, all very good quality, but the carpets/wallpaper/furniture!
Location: Short walk into town, Christmas market was on so busy. Very friendly people. We got the 25 minute train to Bruge, which was £7.50 for a day return.
The hotel is easy to find. There is parking at the hotel or in the public underground carpark directly behind. Cost about £15 a day, I think I would stay here again and recommend Gent as a lovely town for a weekends break.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 13, 2016
it was a nice place to staydddddddddddddddddddddddd
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from T

Excellent 5 star hotel 5 mins walk to centre.

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Excellent hotel. 5 star feeling. Comfortable room and lovely restaurant. Breakfast was very good. Spa area small but very serene and invigorating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Great hotel - beautifully done and excellent location. Would recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gent Belgium

City break

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Visiting family in this lovely historic city Hotel very good but on the balcony floor of our room was a cigarette packet and stub which stayed there even after the room had been cleaned The road outside was being repaired and workmen work us up at 7am each day
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester UK

Luxury hotel close to centre

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Pros: The character.
The hotel is luxurious with lots of character. It looks like it may have been some kind of stately home in the past. It is beautifully decorated. Location is just a few minutes walk from the city centre of Ghent. The staff were helpful and polite at all times. While many hotels quickly fade from the memory and merge into one, I will certainly remember the Rolef with affection.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Grand hotel from another Era with modern twists

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Lovely facilities. Gorgeous lobby, bars, sitting areas and carriage house converted to a wellness centre and gym. Great location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reno

Delightful and Better than Expected

Posted May 8, 2016
Pros: It is a beautiful hotel and has the qualities of a boutique hotel. The decor is elegant and tasteful. Lovely outside area to sit.
Cons: The breakfast buffet needs to have more vegan options. Also, the room did not have a bathtub, only a shower, but that is common in Europe.
Location: Fantastic location since it is such a short walk to the center of town. Avalon and La Botanical are good vegan restaurants to eat at.
This is a lovely hotel and the ambience is better than a four star . The staff was friendly and welcoming. They had a wonderful Welness Center and although small, it was terrific The workout facility was basic, but comfortable and had the necessary equipment. The location was amazing, only a short walk to the center of town. The only downside was that they did not have enough vegan dishes on their breakfast buffet and although we had wanted to eat it, we decided against it since there was not enough for us to eat. If you are vegetarian, it is okay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from s

Very well located, beautiful hotel.

Posted May 6, 2016
A very pleasant surprise. Huge value for the price. A beautiful place.