Ratings based on 483 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by Beth

This Hotel Stinks

Posted Jul 18, 2017 on Hotels
The keys did not work had to go to the desk twice. The thermostat was falling off the wall. No Tissue in the tissue box. They did not clean our room when we got back to it the next day at 7:30pm. Had to call once and go to the front desk because no one came after the call. Then the maid was very Rude. Will not be back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 3, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Beth, thank you for taking the time to write a review after your recent stay. I would like to sincerely apologize for the issues you experienced during your recent stay. It is our goal to ensure every guest has a positive experience and when we fall short it's frustrating. I've shared your feedback with the team to ensure these issues are corrected and hope you will give us another shot the next time you're in the Hartford area. Nick Gengenbach General Manager
5 out of 5
by Daniel

Posted Jul 17, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 3, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Daniel, thank you for the 5 star rating after your recent stay. We look forward to seeing you the next time you're in the Hartford area. Nick Gengenbach General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 16, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear valued guest, thank you for taking the time to give us 4 stars after your recent stay. We look forward to seeing you the next time you're in the Hartford area. Nick Gengenbach General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Friendliest staff

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Edward was very helpful w our late check-in, we really appreciated his kindness. Beds were comfortable and the breakfast was great w lots of variety. :-)
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2017 by Nick Gengenbach, Hotel Management
Dear Melissa, thank you for the kind words after your recent stay. Ed is always willing to go above and beyond so it's nice to see his efforts recognized. We look forward to seeing you the next time you're in the Hartford and as always, thank you for choosing Holiday Inn.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unfortunate Area

Posted Jul 7, 2017 on Hotels
The overall quality of the hotel itself was good. Our stay was ruined the first night we got there. Unfortunately our car was broken into and thebwindow was smashed along with another car that was next to ours. The manager was helpful and had the hotel staff clean the glass out the car. She said she was going to take care of our stay and when we reached out to hotels.com to let them know she was reimbursing us they said for only one night. However, when we spoke to her she said our stay and once we called her out in her word she begin to say oh I apologize I thought you were here for only one night. Which is unfortunate the manager did not do their research to see how long our stay was. They should have reimbursed us for the entire stay because we had to go pay for the window to be fixed which was more then the one night of "reimbursing" us. Better research should have been done so we were not happy at all with our stay. I'd recommend you parknyoir car as close to building in a well lighted area. Because there is no security and hotel only comps one night which is nothing compared to the damage.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear valued guest, I would like to sincerely apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay. I've reached out to our security company as we have a guard strictly for the lot to ensure these types of things don't happen. As for the reimbursement, I've reviewed our SOP with the team to ensure this is handled appropriately if they should happen in the future. Again, sorry for the issues you experienced and thank you for choosing Holiday Inn. Nick Gengenbach General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ct

Nice hotel near kid friendly activities

Posted Jul 6, 2017
The hotel itself was very nice. Staff was friendly. Downside was apparently it was a big graduation party weekend, and there was lots of drinking going on everywhere! The lobby, hallways, and entrances. Also 420 smoking was crazy in our hallway. And since I was there with my children and could smell it in our room, I complained to front desk. They offered to switch my room, and freshen up the hallway. Problem solved? Lol
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2017 by Nick Gengenbach, Hotel Management
Dear Q, I would like to apologize for the issues you experienced while you stayed with us. As we were very busy that weekend there's no excuse for people smoking in the hotel as we are 100% non-smoking. We hope to see you the next time you're in the Downtown Hartford Area and as always, thank you for choosing Holiday Inn. Nick Gengenbach General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Do not go here!!!

Posted Jul 3, 2017 on Hotels
Not only did we call hotels.com to cancel but also the hotel itself. We saw drug activity in the parking lot and left. Called for a refund since we do stay at holiday inn's in other areas and they would not give us a refund. We will never stay with our family again at holiday inn.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear valued guest, I would like to sincerely apologize for what you observed when arriving to the hotel. I can assure you this is a safe place to stay as we have security overnight, in the building and parking lot to ensure our guests safety. Again, I would like to apologize for your experience when arriving. Nick Gengenbach General Manager
2 out of 5
by Chris from Maine

Not up to par.

Posted Jul 3, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel desk attendant was fantastic. Very nice man. The morning breakfast staff left a bit to be desired. The room itself was grungy. It smelled like an old locker room that's never been aired out and the second floor smelled like cat urine. The bathroom didn't get cleaned. Or if it did get "cleaned" the staff was in and out and simply didn't care. There were still soap streaks and body hairs left in the showers and all over the floor. Overall I wouldn't stay again. I'd rather keep driving or spend a little bit more to not have an unpleasant room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Chris, it's disappointing to see we fell short of your expectations while you stayed with us. Our goal is to ensure every guest has a memorable stay and when we fall short it's frustrating. I've shared your feedback with the team to ensure we correct these issues. Nick Gengenbach General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 2, 2017 on Hotels
I booked and paid $6 extra for breakfast....hotel.refused to honor since they said hotel code booking does not include breakfast ...
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear valued guest, thank you for the feedback from your recent stay. I would like to sincerely apologize for the issues you experienced while you stayed with us. I've reviewed this with the staff to ensure a situation like this doesn't happen again. We hope to see you the next time you're in the area and as always, thank you for choosing Holiday Inn. Nick Gengenbach General Manager
5 out of 5
by Brian

Great place to stay in Hartford

Posted Jul 1, 2017 on Hotels
The staff was very polite and accommodating. We paid a little extra through booking for the breakfast and it was well worth it! Food was delicious and the staff was awesome!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Brian, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a nice review after your stay. The staff works diligently to ensure every guest experience is a positive one and it's nice to see them recognized. We look forward to seeing you the next time you're in the area and as always, thank you for choosing Holiday Inn. Nick Gengenbach General Manager