Ratings based on 354 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Beautiful authentic hotel

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Great hotel steeped in history. It has an authentic feel and is 15 mins walk from the old city. Very friendly and helpful staff. Very clean. Beautiful court restaurant. Highly recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful grounds

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Lovely hotel in stunning grounds makes this a haven after a hot day in Jerusalem. Pool is big and the bar in the gardens gorgeous. Huge bathroom and comfortable beds. Has a slight 80s vibe and it's a bit out of the way but definitely worth booking.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2017 by Jeremy, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your kind and positive review.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brighton, England

An oasis within the hot noisy city of Jerusalem

Posted Aug 15, 2017
Pros: The history and solidity of the buildings. The decor and plants. The peacefulness.
Cons: The only additional extra I could think of, would have been a bowl of fresh fruit available at the reception desk.
Location: It is a short taxi ride to other locations or walking distance when the weather is cool enough, to the old city.
We were treated by all the staff with care and attention and the hotel is a delight. Despite ferocious heat the place was cool and relaxing, with many assorted areas to eat and relax. The beds were extremely comfortable with luxury linen. The photos on the websites are a true reflection of what you can expect. The meals were some of the finest I have ever had and the home-made ice-cream was fantastic.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2017 by Fathi Rassas, Hotel Management
Dear Tracy, Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay at The American\n Colony. We look forward to welcoming you back again to our charming hotel. Best regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel close to Old City

Posted May 3, 2017
My first time to Jerusalem and I spent three nights at the ACH. It was the perfect place to use as my home base. Will definitely be returning to Jerusalem in the near future and can't imagine staying anywhere else. The garden, food, staff, bar and buildings are all first rate!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to old city very nice staff

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Nice city see all old churches safe place hotel is nice blend between old and new facilities
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

An oasis in Jerusalem

Posted Apr 20, 2017
You'd be pushed to find a better hotel in Jerusalem. It was lovely, really like being in an old colony embassy.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago.il

Nice Hotel

Posted Apr 14, 2017
The hotel does not justify its high rating, the staff are courteous but the rooms are clean and not of high standard. The location of the hotel is good for those who have a car but we did not feel safe enough to explore the area on foot.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2017 by Jeremy, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback . You have not chosen to share with us what exactly was not of a high standard which makes our improving that very difficult. We are sorry you felt this way . The area around the hotel is very close to the Old City and has some interesting sites, and we believe is safe as do most of our reviewers, so again , we are sorry that is how you felt.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hospitable, friendly and characterful hotel

Posted Apr 13, 2017
A piece of history, close to the old city and the light rail - you can be in Ben Yehuda mall in 10 mins. Cosy bar, pool and garden cafe. Staff happy to arrange trips, transfers etc. A tranquil haven from the buzz of a great city.
5 out of 5
by Betsy

Posted Mar 25, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel and garden are charming. The breakfast buffet was well done and the bar and restaurant served good food. Staff was helpful
5 out of 5
by francois

Great hotel with a true History!

Posted Mar 25, 2017 on Hotels
Great hotel, perfectly located to explore the Old City. Extremely welcoming staff. Traditional Middle East food at affordable prices. A definite must!