Ratings based on 90 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
55% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mexicali

Terrible!!!

Posted Nov 7, 2017
The only thing that is good is because it is close to old Jerusalem. And it is not too expensive
3 out of 5
by Claudio

Great in pictures but not so good street.

Posted Oct 18, 2017 on Hotels
Great location, but very dirty place, full of arabs or muslims.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from FL

good location but terrible

Posted Oct 14, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: not at all
Cons: dream on
Location: good
not organized at all, need to remodel, smelly, I was terrifying to go to air port even paid early day. TAXI driver are aggressive asking more money, staff are not organized, bathroom is very smell coming from pipe...
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ruislip

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Pros: The Lobby was expendable
Cons: Total refurbishment!
Location: Location is acceptable,
We got a room other people had slept in. The sheets dirty and full of hair. The bathroom had exposed electrical cables, very dangerous. Given another room that was much the same. Next day another room with exposed electric cables and very dirty. The only clean place was the reception. I have made Photos! The Dining room was filthy, the chairs dilapidated and torn.Please do not recommend this Hotel. We moved to the Golden Walls Hotel just round the corner. A lovely Hotel absolutely spotless. Cost $560 I expect from you nothing less than a total refund of £430.00 I paid to you for the Metropole Hotel which should be closed down for health and safety. It spoilt our first 3 days. We would have moved immediately but there was a festival all Hotels were full until the 10th September. ( I will try and send you photos of the condition of the Metropol Hotel later as I am writing to you on a friends computer ) Please be in touch!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Good location

Posted May 31, 2017
I stayed for a week. The room was clean with air con, a hot shower, TV, fridge and tea/coffee/kettle. Staff were polite and helpful. I was on the street side of the building so I was expecting it to be a bit noisy, however, they have double glazed the windows so that wasn't too bad. Unfortunately, there was noise within the hotel including a major altercation one night. The street lights were very bright, whilst the curtains were quite thin, which made it difficult to get a decent night's sleep. If you stay here take ear plugs and sleep mask. Its strength is its location on the edge of the old city in East Jerusalem. Most sites are within easy walking distance. The Arab bus station, the one closest to Damascus Gate, is convenient for a day trip to Bethlehem. It was also easy to get to and from the light rail. I think that balanced against what it cost I would give 3.5/5.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MSP

Location is good close to Herod's gate but...

Posted May 21, 2017
The location is great it's about 3-4 minutes to Herod's gate. But the area is a little bit uncomfortable if you are not use to the local area. I feel safe but the area is not clean. The hotel is below average. The room is your basic room, bed, fridge, tv, and air conditioning (great). The bathroom is ok clean, all of the fixtures though are falling apart. Soap holder, toilet paper holder, towel holder they are all almost coming off. They didn't clean my room on my 2nd day. I had to ask for my towel twice. I stayed at room 306 I could not even close the door shut unless I pull them hard and make a loud noise. The hallway on the 3rd floor always smells smoke because the 4th floor there are employees that smoke in the stairwell all the time. The good thing about the hotel is the overnight staff are always nice and accommodating the location is nice and close to the old city wall. But that's about it. If you are looking for convenient and a place to sleep and have a bathroom on your own then this is the place. For the price I paid it was the right amount for what I got. Hope this experience help you on your decision. Thanks.
1 out of 5
by Esthefany

The worse stay of my life

Posted May 21, 2017 on Hotels
My stay was horrible, Please don't stay in this hotel, I've been to over 26 countries and never seen something like this. the staff do not speak English. I ask for a ride back to hotel the guy try to charge me $80. I found a cheaper ride and he told the ride taking me that they couldn't cause he has to make a commission. There was several other guest screaming at him as this was going on. The room smell horrible, and the A/C kept leaking all night. Also the day I got there I ask if they had tour information, the same guy try to sale me 500$ for a day tour around town.
4 out of 5
by Christopher

Central to tourists locations

Posted Apr 2, 2017 on Hotels
1 min walk from Harrods gate. A great place to stay if you want to spend most of your time in the walls of Jerusalem. On a busy street, but it quiets down at night. Hard to find street parking. Easiest to find parking at night. I parked when I arrived, and didn't move my car for 3 days. Many of the historical sites and current day Jerusalem hot spots are within 30 mins walking distance. Taxi's are prevalent if you prefer.
4 out of 5
by Syed

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 1, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient, comfortable hotel. Helpful staff.

Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Hotels
Jerusalem is more amazing and fascinating than one ever imagines. And the Jerusalem Metropole is very near to both the Old City and the bus stations.