Ratings based on 175 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from east lothian

Posted Aug 17, 2017
I stayed due to the location as it was close to the leisure centre. Very run down. Dining room tables had been wiped round the salt/pepper so we're unclean under them. Room was not very clean and decor needs major upgrading as well as bathroom/shower. Floor was dirty. Good WiFi though.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Stopover in transit

Posted Aug 12, 2017
Pros: Adequate for my stopover
Cons: see above
Location: large mall next door with multiple eating places, but all chains rather than local
Okay for my short stay, but the TV signal was lost during the evening and the general appearance of the outside and the bedrooms needs attention. Public areas appeared to be better mantained.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire

Short Fri-Sat stay to attend a wedding

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: Lovely quiet rooms at night, even though our room overlooked the road. Cleaners during the day were noisy due to the doors banging..
Cons: The lighting in the dining room for breakfast was too dark. Cold breakfast Sunday as someone forgot to turn the hot plates on. No Bacon & rubbery eggs
Location: Great shopping centre right next door. Easy access from the airport.
For the money this was an excellent hotel for a short break. Spotless sheets and towels. Mattress's a bit worn but not saggy. Tea and coffee making in the room. The hair dryer is in the drawer. Lovely helpful staff. Great location. On the Friday evening we returned to the hotel for a drink in the bar. Gary the bar manager..? was very attentive and friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel w/ free parking, friendly staff

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Good location, easy check-in, friendly staff, good restaurant, clean & comfortable at a very reasonable price
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent staff service. The room was fab.

Posted Jul 15, 2017
The car park under the hotel needs a lot of work done . That's a turn off for patrons. .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Moray

Close to retail centre

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness
Cons: Parking facilities
Location: Handy for families house
Nothing wrong with first night. Saturday night very noisy untill 2.30 in Sunday morning. Our room (103) was just above area where people stood outside for smoking, and also doors banged ,we could not get to sleep.Parking was full and reception directed us to a private carpark but luckily in the morning I was there as an attendant was about to book us.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2017 by DD, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay. I take on board your comments about noise which we usually manage to reasonably control if there are any events on. The parking is limited but fairly substantial compared to other city or town centre hotels. There are however several very reasonably priced carparks close by the hotel for as little as £2.20 per night which I will now ensure all our receptionists are aware of in the event of our carparks being full. Kind regards
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

In the centre of East Kilbride

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: The Bruce Hotel has a very Scottish atmosphere to it - without being either a Pub or a Distillery :-) You can walk to shopping and public transport
Cons: The carpets around the hotel halls, stairs reception area etc. looks old, dirty and worn, and could really use an update.
I come to East Kilbride/Hamilton to stay several times a year and have tried different hotels in the area. This hotel is situated in the City Centre with easy access to everything. Yet it seems to be a fairly quiet area during the night - except if the hotel itself has an event going on. Staff is very kind, room is clean and made every day. Bathroom facilities relatively new and works well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2017 by dd, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Many thanks for what was for the best part a great review. Haste ye back Kind regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lonfon

Good place to have a goodnight sleep!

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Good restaurants available on ground floor.Room itself was just what U expect!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by dd, Hotel Management
Dear Sohail Many thanks for your great review which is very much appreciated Kind regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montrose

Excellent value for money.

Posted May 31, 2017
Great value for money. Central location yet a nice peaceful atmosphere. Staff great, special mention to the barman. Had read some terrible reviews but they are totally unfounded.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2017 by DD, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Many thanks for such a fantastic review and pointing out how your experience differed from some of the other reviews. Haste ye back. Kind regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from paisley

Lovely hotel

Posted May 29, 2017
We had an impromptu overnight here. Fantastic hotel, very comfortable rooms and brilliant breakfast. Only fault, slight chipping of enamel in our bath but didn't affect our overall stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2017 by DD, Hotel Management
Dear Sam Many thanks for such a terrific review and thanks also for bringing the chip in the bath to my attention when my housekeeping department have not. Kind regards