Ratings based on 186 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aberdeen

Gem of a Hotel/Castle

Posted Nov 10, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: no
Location: Golf
Fantastic short stay at the unique hotel. Perfect for golfers who are looking to play in the Mussleburgh area, North Berwick, Muirfield, Gullane, Archerfield area. We were met at reception by the wonderful Lynn, she took care of us from the get go. Very warm welcome and very cosy hotel, unique rooms and sitting areas. Fantastic breakfast. Vey modern bathrooms and the shower was great. Beautiful building and grounds. One of my favourite hotels in Scotland for sure. Only 3 star but should be at least 4 if not 5. Thanks for a memorable stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Wales

Comfort in the countryside close to the capital!

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Pros: Room comfort, sitting rooms, library, gardens and games room, a real home from home!
Cons: No.
Location: 35 mins into Edinburgh on the no. 44 bus from Wallyford or much less by train. We'll need to return as there is so much to see and do in the city!
Beautiful hotel in beautiful surroundings. Lovely local and not too difficult walk with lots of poignant history. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff with a very good quality of food and Carberry beer!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hamilton, Ont. Canada

Carberry Tower & Mansion House

Posted Oct 13, 2017
Pros: See above
Cons: Nothing
Location: For a nice meal try the Mercat Grill, a few minutes drive away, go down the hill, turn left & it's on the right.Great for the park & ride at Wallyford
Should not be missed if you are in the area, great history, nice rooms (we got a free room upgrade) & close to Edinburgh. We booked the train from Wallyford (5 mins from Carberry) after leaving the car at the free park & ride & travelled the 15 mins or so into Edinburgh, great move.....stay in Carberry with no hassle of trying to park in Edinburgh! Staff we really great, especially the ladies in the breakfast area & bar. Will recommend this hotel highly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birch Bay, WA

Nice hotel close to the airport

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Pros: It was quiet
Cons: It's nice the way it is.
Location: For us, it was close to the airport.
The drive down the lane to the hotel was spectacular and the nice thing was parking was right in front. Beautiful place nice lobby and check in. The room was clean with a nice view of the gardens. The one really nice thing was it was quiet you didn't hear noise from the other guests. The food was very good, we ate dinner and breakfast there, breakfast was included. Overall we really enjoyed it and would recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Fife, Scotland

Country house living - but a little soft at edges

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Pros: Staff are attentive and good-natured especially receptionist. Atmosphere is wonderful.
Cons: Bathroom facilities need overhauling in our room as does the breakfast room.
Location: Plenty of land and gardens to wander round. Near other extensive woodland walks and hill climbing areas.
Great house and quiet garden - surrounded location with woodland walks. Stayed in twin room with new mattresses and bed clothes. Room was spacious but tired, bathroom especially so. Numerous broken tiles in shower and window areas - and not exactly clean - bathroom more of a wet room and seemed designed perhaps for wheelchair users? did not feel comfortable or up to standard. Relaxing spacious common rooms in hotel with no sense of urgency to life - library, drawing rooms, snug. Breakfast room at garden level is well out of date and not up to standard although nothing wrong with cooked breakfast or staff, just too canteen-like for the overall experience to be top quality. So, overall, a wonderful house conversion with a great story but entry-level standards for more experienced travellers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from utah, USA

The 'Classic' is very small

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Excellent friendly staff. Meals very good, but limited dinner menu. Easy access to train station - 10 minute drive. Quick 12 train ride to downtown Edinburgh. Although the room was tight, there were ample common areas to visit with family.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from United States

Needs upgrading in the rooms

Posted Sep 17, 2017
This old estate is in a beautiful location in the country with beautiful gardens surrounding the facility. We rented two rooms for two nights, one Junior suite and one classic room. My daughter slept in the classic room, which was very small but worked well for one person. However it would've been somewhat cramped for two people. Our junior suite was much larger with plenty of room for walking around. Two problems with our room number - one there were no suitcase stands, so we had to place our suitcases open on the floor. The second problem was that our bathroom was in room but had to go up a flight of stairs to get to it. This would have been no problem except that the door sills were only about 5'6" high. Since I am 5 foot 11, I bumped my head six times on the door sill. dinner in the restaurant was very good, however there was a limited selection of entrées. Breakfast was very good, providing both a fruit cereal buffet and cooked to order food. Also, on the second floor was a large library and several seating areas.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Little Gem

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Beautiful hotel, love the history. The restaurant was fantastic for dinner. Would recommend to escape from the business of everyday life.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful location

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: The location and history of the property is what sets it apart.
Cons: Some of the rooms need freshening up a little.
Location: We used it as an overnight stop while exploring the coast around North Berwick. Very close to Edinburgh.
The building and grounds are magnificent, every bit as beautiful as the photos on the website portray. Our accommodation was a little on the small side and we had to shoo several flies back out of the open window before settling in, but it was otherwise clean and had everything we needed for the night. We had dinner in the bistro which was excellent, although again it wasn't the largest space and we took our after dinner drinks into one of the wonderful lounges. This made for a very pleasant and comfortable evening as we had the place pretty much to ourselves. Breakfast was superb with a good variety of hot and cold food. Clearly there's some serious investment been made in the property as a lot of the fixtures and fittings are of a high standard, but this is not consistent across the whole of the hotel which suggests it might still be 'work in progress' in some areas. All in all we had a very nice stay here and we would return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Final night in luxury of our vacation.

Posted Aug 16, 2017
We were in a room on the 2nd floor that was close to a crack in the outside wall that was home to bats...therefore...we had 2 bats in our room in the middle of the night as we had the window open a crack and there are no screens. Staff were immediately responsive but it was frightening and disruptive. That is the only negative, rest was fabulous.