Ratings based on 64 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Victoria, Australia

Interesting experience

Posted Aug 10, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff. Lovely gardens, good parking.
Older style room that was rather small, but quite adequate. Lounge and dining areas excellent. Food good. Busy wedding venue. Interesting watching guests arrive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 12, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Dear Mr Merrilyn Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. I am pleased to read you had an excellent dining experience. I have passed your comments onto the team. The hotel has recently changed ownership, who have plans to refurbish all areas of the hotel towards the start of next year. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards
2 out of 5
by Lesley

Avoid at all costs

Posted Jun 26, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is in dire need of refurbishment to the bedrooms. For £140 you would expect some luxury but the bedrooms in this hotel are grotty with cobwebs and spiders, very dark and dingy. The bathroom was appalling with black grouting and sealant in the shower. Public areas were nice as were the staff and the spread at breakfast was plentiful and tasty. Would I return - definitely NOT!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sunderland, UK

Lovely setting, but a bit over priced

Posted May 18, 2017
Pros: Wonderful village and scenery.
Location: 2 minute walk to the local village. Several lovely pubs and restaurants nearby.
The hotel is a bit dated, but would have been lovely in its day. The village and surroundings are beautiful and a number of lovely local pubs very near-by. I would suggest that this should be a £90 per evening hotel, not £140. I have rated this as OK purely down to the price, rather than what I feel it is worth.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs some upgrading and a really thorough clean.

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Pros: Proximity to St. Mary's church
Cons: Cleanliness, décor,
Needs a really thorough clean. Hairs in wash basin and toilet on arrival. Stained carpet. Peeling wallpaper and ceiling paper. Hot breakfast buffet poor - items had been sitting too long and were dried up. Toast OK.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay, good parking, food, staff

Posted Feb 1, 2017 on Hotels
Great place to stay - will use this Hotel now, each time we go to Scotland.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

easy access to town

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
easy access to town
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Maitlandfield house hotel

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Staff where excellent and very friendly. Helpful and really nice attitude. Probably the hotel looked tired but facilities, cleanliness and breakfast first class
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from west mids

Business trip

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Room was clean and tidy and warm all amenities tv tea making facilities hair dryer a pleasant stay would probably opt for a double room next time for a bit more room but overall an excellent 3night stay.The food in the hotel restaurant is a must it was excellent.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 29, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs a facelift

Posted Sep 1, 2016 on Hotels
The bedroom decor was dreary, and there was mould around the bath. The public rooms, on the other hand, were comfortable and in good condition.