Ratings based on 1,079 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
43% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Independence KY

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Decent place, staff was friendly and caring. The rooms seemed clean. The place is a little old and out dated as far as carpet etc. would have been a solid 4-4.5 if so.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No receipt

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Actually my second review on this. On checkout they couldn’t print a receipt. Promised to email me one. Never did. This should have been half the price I paid. Room condition poor, badly needs remodeling. But the check in was was quick and courteous.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Richmond, VA

Very old place

Posted Oct 20, 2017
A very disapointing place. The facility is old and it shows. The toilet was dirty. The tub had rust stains on the grout. I had to pull a dresser out from the wall to find an outlet to plug in a phone charger.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bates Motel

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Did you see my title for this review? This place was disgusting. Stains everywhere.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: bed was comfortable,
Cons: update bathroom
The hotel is old and looks it. Walls and doors are in disrepair. Air freshener in the hallway is trying to cover up an underlying moldy smell. Parking is abysmal especially if there is wedding or other meeting, There was food on the stairs that was there when I got there and there 2 days later when i left.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Decent location and price

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Pros: Location, having a place to eat on site, and all the staff we encountered were pleasant.
Cons: a little updating.
Location: Was near Churchill Downs, but we were there for a wedding, so wasn't able to do anything else.
It had a nice pool, and great, unexpected, courtyard area. Location and ease of getting to and from where we needed to go was good. The only cons are that the room probably could have used having the carpet cleaned - it smelled a little off. The bathroom was small, but if only 1 person in it, it was fine. It is showing a little wear in the carpets throughout the hotel. I would stay here again, and just bring some air freshener next time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Nice hotel for decent price .

Posted Oct 13, 2017
The hotel was clean and in a nice location. Very easy to find . The staff other then the lifeguard where very nice and helpful. Maybe she was having a bad day I don’t know but she wasn’t very friendly . Would recommend it to family and friends .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

rooms were filthy.

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Pros: Staff at the front counter was friendly and courteous.
Cons: complete remodel
Location: The Marriott down the street would be much better
The rooms were filthy. No better way of putting it. The walls, carpet, etc. The best part was the bedding. When we entered the room, i see all these lumps showing through the top of the bedding. I think to myself, great this will be the night I will never forget, the mattress must be so bad they covered it with one of those Egg crate toppers. Wrong, the comforter just had that many lumps in it.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ohio

I want a refund

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Upon checking in everything seemed great. After that it went down hill quick. We got on the elevator to to to our room and the elevator jars your entire body when I starts and stops. We got to our bed and laid down and found a nasty yellow stain on the sheet. I then went to go get ice only to spend the next 30+ MINUTES walking around the entire second floor and eventually the first floor trying to find an ice machine that worked. I called management and they were no help whatsoever. Also our room didn't even so much as have a mini fridge or a microwave so again, I had to travel clear across one end of the hotel to the other to use a dirty microwave near the lobby. Hopefully someone higher up in the chain aside from the manager there can reach out to me and give me a refund or something.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Ac did not work Old hotel in need of remodel Not very clean