Ratings based on 443 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Happy Valley, Victoria

Family Friendly

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Pros: Quiet with secure parking,.
Cons: Stop the council ecycling truck from picking up the bins at 6 AM.
Location: Although just off the nighmare of Hoddle Street - From Birche you can drive all the way into town - avoiding some of the Melbourne traffic chaos.
You can bring your family dog, perhaps the cat and maybe your goldfish - Just let them know.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2017 by Alan, Hotel Management
Hi Warwick Thank you for posting your feedback following your recent stay with us. If only we could stop those Friday pick-ups - it is 7am (perhaps feels like 6am!) We do hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards Alan
5 out of 5
by Chris

Location excellent for these apartments

Posted May 16, 2017 on Hotels
Close to Fitzroy Gardens the location of Birches Apartments in a quiet street is excellent for relaxing near the CBD. Nearby is Victoria street where there are many Vietnamese restaurants. Each room is self contained and serviced daily, but there is no lift to the second floor, only stairs. It was a lovely stay and I would like to go back.
4 out of 5
by Akaisha

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from port fairy, vic

Perfect family stay

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Great location, we stayed for the footy, 10 min walk to MCG, supermarket and cafes close. Had breakfast at George st cafe both mornings, and couldn't r ecco mend highly enough, very comfy bed and pillows
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Very helpful team and great location with quiet good sized rooms. Would definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from rural victoria

Helpful +++

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Wotif
Staff were extremely helpful and obliging. Genuinely friendly and went out of the way to please. loved the secure parking. Older style apartment but really lovely, clean and comfortable. Close to the tram stop and a good walk to the Cbd. Hospital rates given and understanding of unsurity of departure days and willing to help in any way.
4 out of 5
by Janine

Posted Apr 13, 2017 on Hotels
communication from staff was excellent, also found them very friendly and obliging.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Christchurch, NZ

Very convenient location with spacious rooms

Posted Apr 3, 2017 on Wotif
Stayed 2 nights while visiting our daughter and was perfect for our needs. The reception staff were very helpful and friendly allowing us early check in and were able to leave bags at reception when we checked out. The Birches is close to public transport, the MCG & the city which was very convenient for our stay. While the rooms are quite basic they are comfortable, spacious and reasonably quiet. We enjoyed our stay and would stay there again next time we visit Melbourne.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N.Z.

Great service

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Pros: Good service & helpful staff
Cons: No parking fees & a balcony to sit on in the evenings & morning would be awesome.
Location: Walking distance to main city and close to tram services.
Arrived after hours hassle free to get into apartment. Clean & tidy apartment. Comfortable bed. I think it was a bit of a rip off having to pay for parking. I have need in our 30 years of travelling ever had to pay for parking when staying at motel or apartment like this.
4 out of 5
by Mayandra

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 29, 2017 on Hotels