Ratings based on 2,908 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tasmania

Good location

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pleasant stay, helpful staff. Enjoyed breakfast, late check out and free bottle of wine
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Disappointing - all shabby; no chic.

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Room on the street side was less than luxurious but not unpleasant.
Cons: The price could be reduced to reflect the value. The hotel should be renovated. Windows facing masses of railway should be double glazed.
Location: Great for sports venues and convenient for galleries and the city
Over-priced - very shabby for a 4 star hotel. Cheaply appointed and threadbare. Overpriced.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Victoria

Nice hotel ingood location.

Posted Aug 4, 2017
Everythi g was great except for the breakfast. Most of it was cold.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Goldcoast Queensland.

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: Right size right place
Location: Being a football fan, I could walk to the M.C.G.
It was one of the most comfortable stays I've had in years. Staff were very helpful and friendly, and to top it off the breakfast was really good. I was so tired when I checked in, I appreciated the comfortable bed, and slept like a baby. The manager arranged transport to the airport for me at short notice, and he went out of his way to do it for me, at 6.30am on Monday the 24th of July.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great central location to CBD but with parks

Posted Jul 16, 2017
great location to city of Melbourne and with beautiful parks nearby to go for walks
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Great location and lovely hotel

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: Everything
Location: A few hundred metres from the MCG and 10 minutes walk from Melbourne Park and Federation Square.
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Mantra. Would definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Whyalla

Location location

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Great hotel well located to sporting events & walking distance to Fed Square
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Location: Great location as we were going to MCG
Friendly and helpful staff, very clean and comfortable accommodation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to trains so can be quite noisey

Posted May 31, 2017
Pros: See above
Location: MCG
Hotel is fine - very close to the MCG which was perfect and Trams into main shopping areas etc are a short walk. The Train station is very close and the trains can be quite noisey - so check where your room is placed - we had four rooms over 3 floors and each had issues with the noise of the trains. Staff were friendly and helpful, and overall a reasonable place to stay - esp if you are needing to be close to the MCG.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canberra

Reasonable hotel, great location, needs some TLC

Posted May 24, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Great location, good rate, staff were friendly
Cons: general maintenance in rooms and common areas (lift/hallways)
Location: Great location near the MCG and Parliament House.
Great location, good rate, staff were friendly but the hotel is in need of maintenance. Shower was a beit worn, and common areas needed maintenance