Ratings based on 53 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very Central

Posted Jun 24, 2012 on Hotels
Would stay in this Hotel again - very pleased with everything and would recomend to others.
3 out of 5
by Judy from Australia

A review of my stay at the Portland Hotel Hull

Posted Jun 18, 2012
Pros: The help and support of the staff at the desk.
Cons: It was a pleasant stay.
Location: The Portland Hotel is in an excellent location.
A comfortable hotel and it was good value for the money. The staff at the reception desk were very helpful.
1 out of 5
by Karl from California, USA. (Via Hull)

Portland Hotel - Cesspit of a hotel

Posted Jun 12, 2012
Pros: Checking out
Cons: Cleanliness, room size, no parking.... Not being able to check out early without losing our money
Location: Central, close to all the pubs full of Chavs fighting in the street below your window at closing time.
Dreadful overall experience. Long gone are the days that The Portland Hotel can be considered a quality Hotel. Being from Hull originally I remember when it was considered a quality place Very tired, extremely dirty overall, whole hotel was obnoxiously smelly. Website advertises cleanliness, we must have been unlucky as our room was filthy. Requested the use of an iron and ironing board, request was ignored three times before I went downstairs to the front desk to ask again. Hotels website advertises room safe, they are non existent (Only suites have them apparently). Toilet only flushed one out of four or five attempts. Bath was filthy on arrival. No Parking available except on street at £2.90 for two hours, had to use train station car park at cost of £70 for duration of our stay. I would have checked out early if we hadn't paid for 9 days in advance. This hotel experience totally ruined our first visit back to Hull in 12 years Never again for us....Book your stay in Hull elsewhere.
3 out of 5
by CF

Ice Hockey Visit

Posted Jun 6, 2012 on Hotels
Room was shabby and hotel has no parking.
4 out of 5
by Elaine from Harrogate, North Yorkshire, UK

The Porlland hotel Hull

Posted May 15, 2012
i was in some trepidation after having read some of the reviews. Indeed, the reception area was somewhat dingy and in need of a face-lift. But we weren't staying there! The room was spotless, with everything we needed; very comfortable in fact. We will certainly stay there again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Closeness to my destination

Posted May 9, 2012 on Hotels
Quiet happy with stay and would be happy to stay again if in Hull
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 10, 2012 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

the portland hotel

Posted Apr 9, 2012
this is the second time we have stayed at the portland hotel.on both occasions we have found the hotel,to be clean and the staff very helpfull and friendly.handy location for the town centre.would definately stay here again
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Portland Hotel, Hull

Posted Mar 30, 2012 on Hotels
very convienant for visiting Hull - just across the road from the rail station, easy walking to key attractions, pleasant and felt safe.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent Value

Posted Mar 27, 2012
Pros: Excellent value
Cons: None
Location: Centre of Hull (although Hull was like a ghost town when we visited)
I was a bit concerned about booking this hotel given the awful reviews. However, I was plesantly surprised. Although the hotel is a bit dated the room was clean and comfortable, excellent value for the price, and the staff were friendly. I didn't have any problems with noise (although friends staying at the same time were woken in the small hours it was by someone in a neighbouring room rather than street noise). We didn't have breakfast so not sure what that was like.