Ratings based on 315 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Excellent central location.

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: Ideal location.
Cons: Air conditioning in room.
Location: Excellent location, close to main points of interest.
We both enjoyed our 3 night stay. The staff we met were very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Great old fashioned luxory,ideal for rail station and not far from city centre,nice modern rooms,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cheap & cheerful

Posted May 28, 2017
Pros: Staff
Cons: General decoration
Location: Central hull, old town & Humber street.
Very friendly staff but apart from the reception/bar area (just about) the hotel is VERY dated.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

Okay hotel

Posted May 3, 2017
I found the common areas to be nicer than my room in honesty. I likes the general decor of the place it was very classic. Kind of Poirot-esque. The plugs were located on the far side of the room whilst my bed was on the other, which is not practical for customer needs in these modern days. Moreover, the bathroom was clean but you could tell that they missed little details, as someone had left their old soap container on the top ridge of the shower. The room was clean and neat, it had a heater to keep warm. It was an okay stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location, but small beds/rooms

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Only stayed here for two nights. Its relatively comfortable. Breakfast was good. Rooms were clean. However, beds were a little small. Overall, a good stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norwich

All staff at your service, old fashioned

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: Friendly quiet, central.
Cons: Toilet flush
Location: There were lovely local galleries/museums, do go to the art gallery at the university. We did not have time to get to the aquarium which is supposed t
The room was on the third floor, quiet, large and clean Only concerns would be toilet had a poor flush; I could not see mattress or pillow protectors on the mattress/pillow. The parking was easy by paying at the reception desk and not on the machine outside. They were very busy for breakfast on the Saturday and Sunday morning so I would advise going earlier rather than later. However, the older gentleman waiter was excellent at putting everyone at ease. We had dinner there on the Sunday evening, the mushroom risotto was good as was the wine. All of the staff were pleasant, smiling and saying good morning or afternoon as you passed and asking how you were and the stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: Location
Location: Not much to do, dissapointing to say it's UK city of culture.
Stayed for the uk city of culture experience, hotel was good location, didn't have breakfast, it's very expensive, there are cafes much cheaper.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Hotel is in an excellent position in the town centre parking can be an issue as there is limited space even when using the railway carpark rooms were spacious and clean but for me the bed was very uncomfortable. Lobby is very nice but some of the furniture is dirty and dated.breakfast was good and reasonable. BAR prices while I thought they were high are compatible with a lot of hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

nice hotel central ideal for local attractions and

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Pros: food, cleanlyness , facilities
Cons: did not spend too much time in hotel as were travelling but it seemed fine
Location: plenty pubs and things to see., docklands very nice. local food
enjoyed Hull city of culture better than expected. visit too short only 3 days to see everything
4 out of 5
by Ian

Central location near railway station and shops

Posted Mar 28, 2017 on Hotels
The former railway hotel, it was easy to find by car and parking was available - a great plus. Convenient also for the railway station. The main areas seem to have had a recent make-over; the bar in the central lobby was a great place to meet for early-evening drinks and breakfast buffet was good, with the option of cooking special dishes if required.