Ratings based on 47 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Rooms overlooking the sea nice spot

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Cons: Coff3ee could be a bit warmer and the breakfast
Nice hotel and excellent service from staff and management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex

Great location and very helpful staff

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Pros: The location is very good, only 15 minute walk from the train station/shopping centre. The sea is just across the road and the theatres are round the corner. The staff are very friendly and very helpful. They accommodated my requests and went the extra mile. My room had everything I needed and was warm and comfortable.
Cons: The only downside was that the walls are thin and I was able to hear the TV and the voices of the people in the room next to mine. But this didn't bother me too much because everything else about the hotel was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from N W London

excellent position overlooking the sea and near th

Posted Nov 11, 2016
we stayed here at the beginning of November when the weather was sunny but the hotel was warm and welcoming once the afternoons became cold. from the end of October the nearby parking restrictions did not apply, very useful!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value for money

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Overall good value for money, nice and clean hotel with helpful staff. Breakfast was excellent value when booked with room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant older hotel on waterfront

Posted Oct 13, 2016
The building is old, but the room was very nice, with standard conveniences. The friendly reception will give you a 1 pound coupon for overnight parking on the adjacent street. The wifi worked well. The breakfast was very well done, and the service excellent. The restaurant seems very posh, although we did not eat dinner there. There are nice walks along the beach in front, and the South Downs park is a short drive away. We had very nice stay, in a traditional kind of seafront British hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Isle of wight

Location great, hotel v. comfortable

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Pros: Location, comfort.
Cons: Invest in the English language skills of your waiting staff, who were all charming and polite but at times mystified.
Location: We were visiting relatives, so can't say much about things to do locally
We love this hotel - it is in a perfect location, and the staff are very helpful. We like the same room each time because of the view and the comfort, and this year it had been refurbished, which was nice. Although not sure about the mismatched wardrobe /dressing table! But what the heck, that is not an important factor. Our only dissatisfaction was with the poor organisation and management of breakfast; you need to bring in a dining room manager / head waiter who is really on the ball, and it would be helpful to send your waiting staff to improvers' English lessons, as we felt they were as frustrated as the guests at the language barrier. But we'll be back !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Eastbourne

Lovely hotel by the sea

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Had a lovely stay and found the hotel well cared for and very clean. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The food was amazing and breakfast was so yummy. It was a really great start to a day of walking along the sea front. Would recommend this hotel and I will be back to stay again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

lovely room with views of the sea.

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Pros: Where the hotel was situated. The staff, especially the receptionists. Very clean, spacious and comfortable.
Cons: Quicker serving of refreshments in the lounges. Maybe just a buzzer connecting to kitchen to order!
Location: Location of the Eastbourne Hotel is perfect. Opposite the gardens and sea in a quiet area but close to shops and restaurants including theatres.
We came to Eastbourne for my birthday treat on 30th August,2016. I can only say that the hotel was excellent in most every way. The receptionists were extremely kind, sincere and knowledgeable. Our room on the second floor was quiet and comfy with un-interrupted views of the sea and gardens. Thank you so much and we are looking forward to another visit soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Lovely Hotel

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Pros: Everything From staff to rooms to position
Cons: Nothing could have been improved
Location: Very relaxing overlooking the sea with everything in walking distance
We really enjoyed our visit to the Lansdowne Hotel, we had a lovely room with everything we wanted & would recommend it to everyone, Everything was just as we hoped & the hotel staff were very helpful & food very good We will defiantly go back for another visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire

traditional, comfortable hotel

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Pros: Comfortable with excellent helpful staff. Good for couples and families. Lovely breakfast
Cons: The rather ancient and tiny lift
Location: close to central Eastbourne. Good theatre and restaurants 5 mins walk away, main shops 10 - 15 mins
A traditional, very comfortable hotel close to Eastbourne's amenities. Superior room was spacious and modern, with everything you could want, although a fridge might have been a nice extra. No air-con, which wouldn't normally matter in the UK but we were there on the hottest days of the year so far - windows open at night meant a bit of noise from passing traffic and late revellers