Ratings based on 58 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wales

Lovely old hotel

Posted Jan 22, 2016
Pros: I loved the decor - old world but not in the least shabby - very well maintained.
Cons: Nothing comes to mind. The lifts may be a bit slow, but this is hardly something to complain about. I loved the hotel just as it is.
Location: The seafront location was delightful, with good restaurants well within walking distance.
The Royal Victoria is a really lovely hotel - lovely is the only word for it. Our room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. The bathroom was spotless, warm and cosy. I loved the hotel for its old world charm, and the staff were friendly, courteous and most helpful at all times. I look forward to my next stay at the Royal Victoria - there definitely will be one!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Tolles altenglisches Hotel

Posted Jan 12, 2016
Super Hotel in Strandnähe, man fühlt sich wie in Krimi-Zeiten von Miss Marple und Hercules Poirot - traumhaft! Den Meerblick sowohl vom Zimmer aus als auch vom Frühstücksraum haben wir sehr genossen.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent, England

A room with a view

Posted Jan 4, 2016
We booked this hotel on a whim and absolutely loved our family room / weekend away! The children loved the fact we had stairs in our hotel room. We also booked a table of 7 at the last minute and the staff were more than helpful setting this up for us. The three course meal we ordered was of top standard. I have recommended this hotel already.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saint-Quentin

hôtel d'une autre époque

Posted Nov 9, 2015
Pros: proximité plage, accueil, architecture
Cons: décor, équipement salle de bain, bruit. À moderniser
Location: Plage, vieille ville, se promener sur les hauteurs de la ville, shopping
très bel hôtel face à la mer, personnel très gentil et serviable, superbe petit déjeuner, chambre spacieuse. Malheureusement à moderniser: bruyant car pas de double vitrage, salle de bain vieillotte, décor à refaire.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs a little help

Posted Aug 19, 2015
The hotel looked beautiful from the outside but the rooms were very dated and needed a facelift my fathers TV didn't work for 2 of the 3 days. The bathrooms were from the 80s and the town was a little scary and sad.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kidderminster

Very comfortable hotel on the sea front.

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Pros: Position and the size of the bedroom.
Location: On the sea front and a nice walk into Hastings all on the flat. Plenty of restaurants and coffee bars in Hastings.
We had a lovely large room with a sea view . The room was large with a small separate sitting area. Very comfortable. The bath room was OK. Food was good on the evening and for breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location.

Posted Jun 12, 2015
The hotel was in good location. I like the carpet color. It looks clean. The room was large. I didn't need that much. I want to tell about fish and chips first food restaurant on London street(Ave. or Rd I don't remember). But the one close to the beach. ( I didn't try another one). 2 guys were working there. You can see they fried 2 or 3 times. So, it was very crispy. I asked the guy don't close the paper bag. In that way, potato didn't get steamed and wet. Medium fish and chips only 5.60. It was very delicious.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Run down and Over priced

Posted Jun 10, 2015
Sea view room with no sea view as windows filthy! I'm not one to normally complain but for £80 I thought this hotel was a DISGRACE! Food was pretty poor as well. Trust me there has to be a better deal out there!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Lovely. Across from the sea. Staff very friendly. Breakfast was one of the best I've had.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gloucester

Posted Jun 7, 2015
Pros: The hotel has a lot of original feature including the listed victorian staircase.
Cons: The hotel is a little dated and could do with some improvements. Corridors to the rooms were a little dark.Need more low energy lighting.
Location: The hotel was a good 20 mins walk to town.
Overall trip was very enjoyable. Our room had a sea view which was excellannt but was unaware the Road outside was the main road so was a little noisey with traffic in the early mornings. We ate in the hotel Restaurant in the evening with good food and service at a reasonable price.