Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Very comfortable. I would only suggest better quality coffee in the foom
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Worthing

Good value and comfortable stay

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Enjoyable stay in comfortable hotel well located in town. Very friendly and helpful staff. Rooms well maintained and comfortable. Pleasant sea views.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from AD

Comfortable and great location to the beach

Posted Dec 11, 2016
I stayed at the York house hotel for a couple of days with my boyfriend to celebrate our anniversary. The location is great, close to the beach and in a walking distance to the centre and the train station. Our room has a good views to the beach. Overall was very clean although some dust was coming up from the extractor of the toilet. The mattress was very comfy. The first night we had a good sleep but the second night we could hear lots of people in the corridor that interrupted our sleep. The breakfast is delicious, there was a variety of food to choose. We tried the restaurante for dinner. The menu is very good and the price was quite good too. The staff was very nice. We decided to stay one more night and they make the process very easy. I recommend that you used the swimming pool. The water is warm and pleasant. Best thing to do in a cold December after walking all day. The only disadvantage are the access to it as you have to pass the restaurant and the changing rooms which are not very clean. Hope you have a good time at Eastbourne!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from maidenhead

family birthday weekend

Posted Nov 25, 2016
Pros: lovely clean roomy hotel. bar nice. reception too. foods good. near the pier. great views.
5 rooms. 9 family members. great time. lovely hotel 3rd time been here and will go again. great location on sea front.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from daventry

A weekend with friends

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Chosen for value for money and position, it lived Ip to our expectations.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dublin

short stay but good. room adequate,though small.

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Pros: The friendliness of the staff and the service.
Cons: the rooms are quite small
Location: the location is excellent, the theatre area is close.the sea front and the pier are worth visiting.nice area to walk around
we enjoyed our stay in the hotel.The staff were very polite and helpful,The breakfast was very good.we did not have time to use the swimming pool.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice room in a hotel from another era

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: The room was very nice, quite newly renovated. The breakfast was ok. The bed was very comfortable.
Cons: It was too hot-you couldn't open the window and the heating was on full. There was a party going on downstairs, with the bass coming through, luckily it stopped around midnight
Location: It was right by the sea and you only had to cross the road to the beach. But difficult to park-we drove around a while to find a spot
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Had a family room which was huge and had a great sea view.. Breakfast was great and had everything we wanted. Overall a good, clean hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kent UK

Clean hotel. Dinner terrible & breakfast chaotic.

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: The room and en suite were very clean.
Cons: The catering. Those who swam found the water in swimming pool too warm at 83F
Location: Good location overlooking the sea and pier. Very nice veranda to sit out on with drinks. Beachy Head is a short drive away & well worth visiting,
We were a group of six staying overnight and were joined by four friends for dinner. Our evening meal was terrible. I ordered the vegetable gratin which was justy potato and cabbage covered in a thin white sauce, served with boiled potatoes and mange tout which had been cooked to death - limp colourless mess. Sea bass chosen by others was thin and dry with poor selection of overcooked veg. some of our group had chicken which was a huge piece served with brown gravy. The desserts were good - Eaton Mess, cheesecake and cheeseboard, I suspect these were not made by the hotel. The hotel had two coaches to cater for that evening and I understand they are used to receiving large numbers to cater for, so there was no excuse for providing poor food. This was not fine dining. By 9am the next day, most of the breakfast had run out. We asked for more bacon and mushrooms which took so long to arrive we were ready to leave.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Leicester

Poor hotel without parking

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: The bed was comfortable, in contrast to the whole experience.
Cons: Cleanliness, helpfulness, management, leadership and, above all, the cuisine.
This hotel proved to be hugely disappointing. If it were inspected by OFSTED the best outcome it could aspire to would be to be put into "special measures". It is situated on the main sea-front at Eastbourne, separated from the beach by a very busy road. There is no hotel car park, but a system of allowing guests to park on the road for £1 a day. The neighbouring sea-front hotels use the same system, so the road is packed on both sides with guests' cars and available parking spaces are conspicuously rare. Parking in the side streets is free, but available spaces there are equally rare because of demand from permanent residents and visitors. The hotel staff were generally surly and minimally helpful. There was no formal porterage, despite the fact that most guests were elderly and many were infirm. I witnessed a handicapped guest in tears of frustration at being unable to access her room, and two incandescent guests whose advanced booking could not be honoured because their room had been let to someone else and the hotel was full. Small amounts of litter that were apparent on the stairs when we arrived remained in situ throughout our week's stay. Staff in the dining room were learning on the job and lacked leadership or direction. The food at dinner was not up to the standard of school dinners. The kitchen staff, including the chef, appeared to have little appreciation or understanding of food preparation and presentation.