Ratings based on 50 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Close to beach, needs updating.

Posted Jan 31, 2016
Pros: Close to Beach and good size room
Cons: Please see my comments above
Location: Beach, Pier, shopping
Clean and good size room. Nice sea view. Whole hotel needs refreshing, bar area is not very nice, bland and no atmosphere and lighting dim and bit dismal. Restaurant dark and not very appealing. Dinner was OK but not Hotel standard food and not very well presented. Staff attentive and good. Breakfast adequate and varied. When checking in we were told breakfast was not included and said as we had booked through Expedia, the terms and rates were different to if we had booked direct with the Hotel!? [I thought Hotels liaised with third party agents?] However, they offered one free breakfast [there were 3 of us] which I declined and eventually they decided breakfast would be included. Also, we asked if we would have to book for dinner and were told we could either have 6.30pm or 9.30pm. We chose 6.30pm......we would have preferreed to eat later....but when we left the restaurant at 8.30pm it was only a third full!! Don't understand!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Super location

Posted Jan 18, 2016
Pros: Staff were friendly ,Hotel looked clean & smart & had good night's sleep
Cons: Couldn't get on the internet ,disappointed breakfast was extra as thought it was included in room cost
Location: Super location for days & evening's out
Booked room for one night , I had thought breakfast was included so I was shocked when informed breakfast was an extra £12.50 ,that has never happened to me before & I suddenly thought £81 just for a night in January was incredibly expensive !!! I decided not to bother with breakfast especially since the evening meal I had at my work Do was disappointing . I thought the room was great though ,very clean & smart & I was pleased I had control over the heating as some Hotels are ridiculously hot ,I could also open the window ,again quite a few hotels that is not always possible.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex

Lovely Hotel, Exceptional Staff

Posted Dec 7, 2015
First time staying in this Best Western having stayed in several other hotels in Eastbourne and after the Grand this is my second favourite.. A big 5 star plus is they allow pets and even provide dog beds and Silver dog bowls. Amazing.. The Grand also allow pets but the Best Western we found was of a more personal touch.. The young lady who checked us out on the Sunday 05 Dec 15 was amazing, what a personality, if they gave out stars for perfection she would get 7 stars all day long.. She was so genuine and friendly she was the icing on the cake after a lovely nights stay. Was lovely to hear the waves crashing as you went to sleep. 5 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location on seafront

Posted Nov 4, 2015
Pros: Friendly and good location
Cons: Signage
Location: In walking distance to town centre, beach and all amenities.
Very spacious bed sitting room, bathroom and separate kitchenette/breakfast bar. Good breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Charming, helpful staff with a sea view

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Charming helpful staff in good seafront location but menu reads far better than reality! I had three different meals from the Bar menu (one lunch and two dinners) and was disappointed in them all. For example, the steak was tough/dry, the mash didn't taste fresh, the gravy tasted as if it was instant from a packet and 'the potato skins and dips' were not the sort of half jackets I was expecting but deep fried potato peelings with a tablespoon of ketchup and a further tablespoon of bbq sauce. That said, the room was large and airy and the sea view good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by brian from ipswich

NICE HOTEL

Posted Dec 2, 2013 on Hotels
Would stay again thanks my room was huge with great sea views
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Mark

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 21, 2013 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Meta from Stockholm

Vacker utsikt över havet

Posted Oct 9, 2013 on Hotels
Vacker utsikt över havet om du får ett rum åt det hållet. Ovanligt rymligt rum och badrum. Det som drar ner betyget är en dåligt spolande toalett, vilket skulle vara mycket enerverande om vi hade varit två som bott i dubbelrummet.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by jrik

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 29, 2013 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

The Excellent Best Western York House Hotel

Posted Sep 19, 2013 on Hotels
Large room with seaview, could hear the sea from the room. Lovely warm swimming pool in basement.