Ratings based on 672 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Elegant hotel but lacks quality

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: carpets, smell in rooms, ability to open the window, broken stained glass, cleaning of rooms
The hotel was overall quite elegant but it certainly looks like not much ongoing renovation is present - carpets terribly old should be replaced long ago, rooms smell a bit weird and it was impossible to open the window (it was limited to open only a few cm plus it was somehow only an 'internal window', guarded by another window outside...weird) and the room was not very well cleaned (there was dust on some surfaces). Breakfast was nice: there was a buffet as well as a la carte but oddly you could not get coffe or tea as part of the buffet option (having both buffet and a la carte required additional payment). Overall a nice hotel, very well located but lacks an eye to quality.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from essex

hotel opposite the pavillion

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Pros: The breakfast was very good plenty of variety.
Cons: Rooms need to be redecorated. And waiting staff to be my friendly
Location: Location good easy to walk to town and beach just across the road.
Stayed at the Cavendish hotel twice before but this time we found the hotel is looking quite tired now, it needs to be up dated waiting staff not very friendly
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Unfortunately I was with a couple so they had a double room and I had a single. Theirs was huge mine was pokey and the difference for two nights was £20 only which I thought disgusting they also ofcourse had double the amount of breakfasts. When one becomes a widow you expect consideration not be ripped off
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from belgium

An older hotel in the real British style

Posted Aug 22, 2016
This hotel of 90 years old is impressionant. We had a room of 35 square meters but a smalle bathroom. The breakfast was more than delicious. And the hotel was near the Beach.it was a Nice experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice facade

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Pros: Public areas
Cons: Bedrooms and bathrooms
Hotel public areas were very good all smart and modern, apart from maybe the games in the library which need a good sort out. There is only one lift serving all the rooms in the hotel. The room was quite tired and needed an update, we had the worst possible view but we did book a budget room. However breakfast was very good, we sat with all windows open overlooking the seafront on a glorious summer day. On the whole, the stay was good but the flashy facade needs to follow through with a room modernisation project.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Nice Hotel in Eastbourne on Seafront

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Bathroom updated.
Location: Hotel is close to beach and theatres. The Marine pub - lovely homemade cooked food. 10 minute walk
Last weekend we stayed Saturday and Sunday night. Hotel has a nice bar which you can sit and look out to sea. Double room was very good size and clean - only criticism the bathroom needs updating. We would recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tradisjonshotell nær stranden

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Gode senger Store rom God frokost, bør bli bedre utvalg for gjester som har behov for glutenfri mat. Stille og veldig praktisk beliggenhet. Rent. Serviceinnstilt betjening.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Abu Dhabi

Excellent location

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Room was a bit dated but had everything you needvand was comfortable. Staff are very friendly and excellent value for money.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago USA

Wonderful seafront Victorian

Posted Jul 14, 2016
The hotel was very nice. The room could have done with a fan, as even with the window wide open for four days it was stuffy in July, but the amenities were good and the location could not have better. I had a wonderful sea view from the top floor. The hotel is just behind the bandstand and I even had live music one night that stopped promptly at 10 pm. Breakfast was lovely.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent location for town centre and sea front.

Posted Jun 11, 2016
Couldn't fault both the setting and staff. Excellent breakfast buffet