Ratings based on 721 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London UK

nice hotel, has seen better days, needs tlc update

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Pros: Its position, its "grand" appearance (tho minus its onetime pot plants at front and entrance stair carpeting - only brass fittings now remain). Quiet
Cons: More staff on check-in/check-out desk to avoid queueing. Access to screen so that visitors without smart phones could book cabs, etc. Coffee lounge
Location: maybe link in with info on local theatres, cinemas
picked night of storm Angus, dramatic, whistling wind, white-foam lashing seafront - but very atmospheric Erevivinjoyed period feel and room was clean, comfortable, and had sea view - driving rain and fairy lights leaping in the gale! Check-in took forever and buffet breakfast was a bit lukewarm and bacon a bit sad. But staff were helpful and kindly let me leave luggage in cupboard following day, after checkout, so that I could enjoy a brisk walk along the promenade. I would stay there again - but would like to see some restoration and reviving of features such as stained glass windows on stairwell, new blinds and carpeting, but appreciate problems of countering salty sea air and heavy customer footfall.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Good location

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Pros: Room was clean. Easy on road parking. Good location to all attractions.
Cons: Uncomfortably hot. Rude bar staff and misinformed.
Location: Close to all attractions
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Nice hotel in a good location

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Location: Situated just down from the pier & bandstand. Visited the Museum of shops which I can highly recommend for all ages.
Stayed for two nights & found the hotel to be in a great location. Had dinner in the main restaurant on the first night, the menu has a wide selection & the food was cooked perfectly. Breakfast was included (buffet style) within our stay & again the food was perfect, 10/10! The hotel has a bar plus large lounge area which seemed to be well used by a number of guests. My only criticism is that as I was leaving the room on the final day, I noticed a previous guest had left a polo shirt on the chair under the desk (I hadn't used the chair during the weekend so hadn't noticed it before), which had not been picked up by the cleaner. Therefore whilst checking out, I thought I would mention to the member of staff on reception, who asked me to go & get it! As the shirt had nothing to do with myself I said no & that a member of staff can collect it instead. I also noticed that as the bathroom mirror steamed up, there was writing all over it from a previous guest which showed the mirror hadn't been cleaned. There was no apology & the staff member didn't seem to even care or even make a note of it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A pleasant stay.

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Excellent breakfast in a lovely dining room facing a sparkling sea, with friendly and accommodating staff. Room was clean and well lit. Only criticism of the hotel is that just one small lift was inadequate at peak times of arrival, departure and meal times.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from A

Good location.

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Comfortable short stay.convenient for beach and cliff walks. Misleading information about available off road parking, had to leave car in a local road.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel direkt am Strand

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Zimmer eher klein, einiges könnte mal wieder richtig gesäubert werden. Frühstück gut, aber vor dem "ansturm" zu empfehlen.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from la baule

Posted Sep 8, 2016 on Hotels
hôtel de style face à la Manche. Chambre au 4ème étage (la 430) à déconseiller totalement car vue de la fenêtre obstruée par un mur en biais à gauche et une haute chemine à droite; de + la fenêtre ne s'ouvrait que très partiellement en bas. Je plains les occupants qui ont été là quand il fait chaud l'été !! sinon hôtel propre, gde salle de petits déjeunes face à la mer au personnel plutôt aimable (sauf 1 serveuse qu'on a l'air de déranger). Pt déjeuner plutôt copieux mais peu de viennoiseries. Propre et confort. Ventilation trop forte dans la salle de bains
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from York

Good position

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Pros: Generally well appointed and spacious
Cons: Probably a second lift would be a good help - not a general problem for us, but there always seemed to be a queue waiting
Location: Not applicable for us - visiting friends
Stay booked at short notice, arrived late but very pleasant welcome
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 4, 2016 on Hotels
First room above kitchen noisy from fans but reception happy to move us breakfast overlooking beach and staff were friendly
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Not as nice as it looks

Posted Sep 4, 2016
The lobby may look modern and provided a good first impression, which was supported by the welcoming and efficient receptionist who dealt with our check in, but it wasn't long before the facade was broken. Behind the lobby, walls and carpets had a tired look, which instantly makes a place look less clean. The lift is slow and jars at each floor with a big bump - not ideal when travelling with a bad back! There's also only the 1 lift servicing all rooms and queues form for this. When we stepped out the lift onto the 3rd floor, it was much hotter and stuffier than the lobby. When we entered our room, it was like a sauna. A window was open (only 1 would open) but this did not aid the situation. It wasn't a particualrly hot day. There was a small fan available to use, but in a big room this made little difference. It made it difficult to sleep and to spend any time in the room. The room was big with a beautiful sea view, and has a lot of potential, but the decor is extremely tired. The old carpets made it feel dirty. The whole room needs updating. The mattresses were either old or cheap as you could feel the springs through them. The dining room has clearly been recently updated, and provided a nice setting for breakfast. The option of buffet or a la Carte included in the price was a nice touch. Albeit the a la Carte option was slow to arrive. However both options were very nice.