Ratings based on 151 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Good overnight stay

Posted Dec 5, 2015
Pros: See notes on experience.
Stayed one night after seeing a show, staff very pleasant, room clean, sea view, excellent breakfast! what more could we want?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jayne from Stafford

A friendly sea front hotel

Posted Nov 13, 2015 on Hotels
Enjoyed a relaxing few days at this hotel. The room and bathroom was small but was clean and had a great sea view. Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast tasty and well cooked. Look forward to staying again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Rachel from eastbourne

Posted Nov 5, 2015 on Hotels
I was a bit disappointed with the room facilities. We had no fridge to use and also no iron. We were going out to a party that evening and weren't able to iron our clothes before.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, good hearty breakfast!

Posted Nov 5, 2015
Pros: Grand building, loved the old fashioned lift.
Cons: It seemed like the smaller room had not been used in a while, it would have been better if it had been checked/cleaned thoroughly beforehand.
Location: Good seafront location.
Booked 2 double rooms for 1 night, unfortunately they weren't on the same floor although they did both have sea views: one room was large and spacious, the other small, cramped and musty. We had no hot water in this room and although rectified initially, had the same problem the next morning when we also discovered that the shower also ran cold. In addition, areas in the bathroom were quite grubby. We had a nice surprise when we opened the cupboard at the top of the wardrobe, and found a polystyrene head! However, there was a good choice for breakfast with a wide selection of juices, cereals and cooked food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Best overnight stay so far.

Posted Nov 5, 2015 on Hotels
Polite staff, clean room, and excellent breakfast - fresh fruit and freshly cooked food. Sea view right outside of building and sea only a stone throw away. Recommended. A++++
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by leslie from north devon

one night stay

Posted Nov 4, 2015 on Hotels
hotel in good condition ,t/v good when it got a signal,staff very good and friendly.woul stay here again when in the area
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Uckfield

Eastbourne gentility

Posted Nov 3, 2015
Pros: As mentioned above a pleasant greeting by staff makes all the difference!
Cons: Some of the bed covers a little tired.
Location: Eastbourne pier, beaches and theatres always brilliant.
Hotel was opposite the beach a short walk into town and train station, also very handy for the theatre which we went to see a show. Hotel has been refurbished and looks very spick and span, beautiful chandeliers and mirrors in dining room, lift was like no other we have encountered, antique, but quite an experience with a couch seat inside. Staff were extremely pleasant and helpful a credit to the hotel. Room was quiet (at the top), good views of the Downs. Breakfast was excellent, served to you, most unusual these days. Even the gardens at the front of hotel were kept very well.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 1, 2015 on Hotels
I understand the hotel is due to undergo a refurbishment. When it does, it will be amazing but at the moment it is a little tired. The staff were very helpful and welcoming and I would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland, New Zealand

Perfect location. Ornate, with traditional values

Posted Oct 30, 2015
Pros: Brilliant location. Helpful staff. Superb breakfasts. Over-delivered on it's 3 star rating
Cons: Provide Wi-Fi in the guest rooms
Location: There was a brilliant Belgian Café one block away and numerous fish and chip outlets in very close proximity.
Being a rugby supporter from New Zealand I was simply looking for quiet break from the hurly-burly of London for a couple of days prior to heading into the Rugby World Cup finals weekend. It was perfect for the occasion
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Not going back again!!!!

Posted Oct 28, 2015 on Hotels
No hot water in the shower. No soap available for two days. First night - water running down a pipe outside room- loud and constant dripping noise for an hour early morning-very disturbing. Window not closing fully. Tea facilities -no clean cups provided daily- or milk cartons or biscuit topped up. Was told that Hotel unable to accommodate families of more than three- so if you have two children, have to leave second child at home!!!