Ratings based on 149 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Coulsdon, Surrey

Great hotel next to the beach.

Posted May 14, 2017
Lovely staff, really friendly and made us feel very welcome. Had a very nice and comfortable stay, will defiantly be going here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ipswich

Excellent stay

Posted May 10, 2017
Pros: Location, room, service
We stayed here several years ago and so had high expectations and Drakes certainly did not disappoint. From the contact made prior to arrival, to check-in, to the room itself, everything was spot-on and nothing was too much trouble. Our room was huge with a fantastic bathroom and was very quiet too. We've stayed in a few Brighton hotels but this is by far the best and would thoroughly recommend a stay here!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Had a lovely stay here...wonderful staff

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Pros: Everything, especially the veggie breakfast and the friendly staff. Comfy bed too :-)
Location: It's Brighton need I say more!
Only a one night stay but great location, would definitely stay again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Welcoming friendly staff. Spotlessly clean. No lift, so be prepared to climb lots of stairs if you are on the higher floors. 5 minute walk to pier. Would recommend
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Clean and comfortable. Only downside was the shutters did not exclude all of the light outside and the room really got very dark.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Suffolk

Its all about the staff!

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Pros: The Staff, the food, the location, the décor. Need I say more
Cons: slightly bigger rooms and storage facilities
Location: location was perfect, not noisy but close enough to walk into town. Both North and South lanes were close as was the Pavillion.
The Drakes Hotel is well located and minutes walk from the epicentre of "London by the Sea". This compact and intimate hotel is perfect for a week end getaway. Rooms are small but tastefully decorated and well equipped with essential creature comforts. But what makes the difference is the STAFF! They were without exception absolutely first class. I booked my partner and I a week end break which included a surprise family meal on Sunday. They seemed thrilled to be involved and made every effort to maintain the secrecy throughout out stay. In particular Sarah, Elry and Veronica were exceptional and could not have been more helpful during our stay. The surprise birthday meal went like clock work and Kevin our waiter was the ultimate professional and orchestrated the event with ease. Needless to say the food was outstanding and had us all gushing about our choices.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Windsor

Wonderful & Personal

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: Everything from checking in to the 24hour room service. Try the Salmon & cheese Sandwiches....gorgeous presentation and delicious.
Cons: Road noise as the traditional sash windows are not double glazed and you can hear "heavy-footed" people from room above
Location: go to the British Airways 360 dome, great views. Take a walk into Hove so many great restaurants, pubs and shops you'll be spoilt
What a great surprise this hotel is. Just the right size as bigger Chains can fell impersonal, felt relaxed the moment we walked through to reception. Checking in was a breeze The staff were very attentive and professional . The room seemed bigger on pictures on website but to bee honest it was perfectly proportioned. Wonderful touches for guests.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M

Unique hotel in good location

Posted Mar 6, 2017
We had a lovely stay, the room was comfortable and modern and we loved the bathroom. The breakfast was adequate and you could hear people passing up and down outside the room but it didn't negatively impact our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Birthday treat

Posted Mar 2, 2017
Excellent hotel staff very good restaurant & great food
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oxford

More shabby than chic.

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Pros: The bed was comfortable and the parking was good
Cons: Reduce rates to reflect B&B prices. This is not an Hotel.
Location: Good central location
This is not an hotel, it is a B&B with hotel prices and is not worth the money. The place is shabby and tired. Our room, looked ok at first glance, but on closer inspection there were balls of fluff on the bedroom floor which had not seen a proper vacuum cleaner in a while, and the rug could have done with a good clean. The bathroom was tired and the toilet bowel cracked. When the adjacent rooms were being serviced in the morning the staff were shouting at each other through open doors which was very poor. All in all, not what I expect for over £200per night!