Ratings based on 159 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Fantastic short stay with the other half

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Pros: Staff, location, complimentary goodies, waffle robes, comfort, accurate photos on the website
Cons: Cleanliness, there was some dust around the bathtub but I didn't make a fuss of it.
Location: Beach nearby and lots of places to eat and shop.
We only stayed for one night as we were celebrating our anniversary! The staff were really nice and there was a lot of complimentary stuff in the room which made me feel that the high price of the room was worth it. Bed was super comfortable and it was nice and quiet at night. The room had really good air conditioning which was a bonus for us! Distance to the sea (across the road) was really nice to have as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lincoln

Great location near the sea and town centre.

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Pros: Friendly Staff and great hotel
Cons: Nothing
Location: Great for Kemp Town and the Pier.
Fabulous stay, best hotel I visited for a long time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 24, 2017 by Drakes Host, Hotel Management
Dear Nigel, We are so happy you enjoyed your stay at Drakes and we can't wait to welcome you back! Kindest Regards, Drakes Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from devon

Great small hotel

Posted May 24, 2017
A lovely personal hotel in a great location for shops, bars, pier and the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Coulsdon, Surrey

Great hotel next to the beach.

Posted May 14, 2017
Lovely staff, really friendly and made us feel very welcome. Had a very nice and comfortable stay, will defiantly be going here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ipswich

Excellent stay

Posted May 10, 2017
Pros: Location, room, service
We stayed here several years ago and so had high expectations and Drakes certainly did not disappoint. From the contact made prior to arrival, to check-in, to the room itself, everything was spot-on and nothing was too much trouble. Our room was huge with a fantastic bathroom and was very quiet too. We've stayed in a few Brighton hotels but this is by far the best and would thoroughly recommend a stay here!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Had a lovely stay here...wonderful staff

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Pros: Everything, especially the veggie breakfast and the friendly staff. Comfy bed too :-)
Location: It's Brighton need I say more!
Only a one night stay but great location, would definitely stay again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Welcoming friendly staff. Spotlessly clean. No lift, so be prepared to climb lots of stairs if you are on the higher floors. 5 minute walk to pier. Would recommend
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Clean and comfortable. Only downside was the shutters did not exclude all of the light outside and the room really got very dark.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Suffolk

Its all about the staff!

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Pros: The Staff, the food, the location, the décor. Need I say more
Cons: slightly bigger rooms and storage facilities
Location: location was perfect, not noisy but close enough to walk into town. Both North and South lanes were close as was the Pavillion.
The Drakes Hotel is well located and minutes walk from the epicentre of "London by the Sea". This compact and intimate hotel is perfect for a week end getaway. Rooms are small but tastefully decorated and well equipped with essential creature comforts. But what makes the difference is the STAFF! They were without exception absolutely first class. I booked my partner and I a week end break which included a surprise family meal on Sunday. They seemed thrilled to be involved and made every effort to maintain the secrecy throughout out stay. In particular Sarah, Elry and Veronica were exceptional and could not have been more helpful during our stay. The surprise birthday meal went like clock work and Kevin our waiter was the ultimate professional and orchestrated the event with ease. Needless to say the food was outstanding and had us all gushing about our choices.
5 out of 5
by Bianca

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 2, 2017 on Hotels