Ratings based on 125 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Faversham, Kent

Time to relax

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Lovely hotel perfect for chilling out. Very peaceful but still close to places of interest. Staff were very friendly
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Old, tired and run down

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: Nice quiet location. Bed was comfortable. Good gym facilities.
Cons: They need to update the bathrooms
beds were comfortable but plumbing was inadequate. There was no shower and the bath had no hand rails to help getting in and out. Tried to take a shower in the gym/pool area, but there was no hot water. The food was mediocre.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dartford Kent

Very pleased with accomodation

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Cons: Bathroom a little dated but everything worked fine and was clean
Location: Location was quiet and in the country but not far to travel by car into Rye.. ideal for us
short but very pleasant stay in a well appointed Hotel. Food excellent, Room although a little dated was large in a quiet area and satisfied our needs. Facilities were good. This was our 2nd visit and still lived up to our expectations.. well done.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Isle of Wight

Lovely country location

Posted Apr 1, 2017
Pros: The whole ambience.
Cons: The food. Not bad by any means, but not fantastic.
Location: Very central for country walking. Beautiful walk across countryside to Rye. Central for driving to all local places of interest.
Charming hotel and friendly staff. Dogs welcome which is smashing. Gardens beautiful. A real faded glory hotel which is so comfortable and relaxing to stay in. The staff are really well trained to be quietly efficient and very willing. We will certainly recommend and return !
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing facilities but some basic issues

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Upon arrival the reception staff was very friendly and let us keep our bags behind the desk whilst we went to the spa. The spa is amazing definitely the best part of the hotel. Really well decorated and clean. When we went to collect our room key they had taken our bags to our room which was a pleasant surprise. The room though small was well decorated however the heater was on full When we got in and the heat was unbearable in the room. There were no easily accessible plugs by the bed and we had a dirty cup in the bathroom which looked like it had shaving trimmings in it. The hot tap wouldn't turn off completely so couldn't use it as it stayed at a ridiculously hot temperature. The toilet seat was broken and kept sliding to the side when you sat on it and there was a large chip on the bath tub tiling. The food was lovely however over priced for what it was and the breakfast selection was ok. A nice touch was that there was board games you could borrow and dvds however when we went to reception at around 9pm there was no one there and no bell to get someone there. Overall a good stay but has some minor issues
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Pre Moving in

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Pros: The food and facilities.
Cons: nothing for me.
Location: new to the area so can't advise.
I had to book an overnight stay prior to moving house. I stayed here as it was close and good value. I had a really nice time and even managed to spend some time in the pool and sauna even though I had forgotten my swimsuit. Dinner was very good, staff helpful and service efficient. Would have no problem recommending this hotel to anyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hotel in a good location

Posted Mar 3, 2017
My partner and I were going away for an anniversary present and we thoroughly enjoyed it. It had a gym and a pool with saunas and a jacuzzi. The restaurant was over priced but it was good food. My partner enjoyed her massage that she had and I felt it was a good price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Walderslade, Kent.

Relaxing country retreat.

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Found the Flakley Hotel on the internet, and couldn't have made a better choice. Suited our needs and requirements - a perfect location for browsing the wonderful nearby villages such as Tenterden and Rye. We were given a warm and friendly reception on arrival, and found the staff attentive to all our needs. Will certainly return, and be happy to recommend the hotel to friends. Thanks for making our stay memorable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Good family trip! Nice staff and good breakfast! ( continental buffet and English breakfast as well). Very nice swimming pool and jacuzzi. It was very comfortable. I will recommend it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Brighton

Family hotel with pool. Close to Rye.

Posted Jan 28, 2017
Pros: All the staff were really friendly. During the weekend children are allowed in the pool/gym facilities up until 8pm at night which kept us all happy.
Cons: The hotel rooms, particularly the bathrooms were a little tired and dated looking, but perfectly adequate.
Location: Rye is full of antique/vintage shops and nice cafes (climbe the church tower to see the medieval bells and view). Camber and Dungeness beautiful
We were lucky to get a gorgeously sunny winter weekend so could explore Camber Sands, Dungeness and poke around the shops and cafes in Rye. The hotel would have kept our kids happy even if it had been bad weather. The swimming pool was lovely and warm and the kids enjoyed this and the Jacuzzi. The sauna/steam room were available for adult use. Our breakfast was very generous and tastey.