Ratings based on 65 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hitchin

Quiet and relaxing

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: peace and quiet, charming and relaxed
We stayed for two nights in July 2016. We were in the top floor room at the back. The room was just what we needed, somewhere to come back to and re charge our batteries after a day out. The facilities were all good. The tv, shower, refreshments all up to scratch. We enjoyed the novelty of the calling of the gulls, goldfinches and other birds on the rooftops in the morning. A welcome change to traffic noise. The room was on the top floor so a bit of a climb up the stairs but we managed with one large suitcase. There was even a view of the sea from the balcony onto the fire escape. We will definitely stay again. A welcome refuge after a busy day.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location and reasonably cheap

Posted Aug 9, 2015
I was happy with the staff and location of the hotel. The only thing that bothered me was the unsuite bathroom. The door didn't shut probably, and it was in a old state. In need of a little work to bring it up.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portsmouth

Nice hotel not far from it all

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Pros: We loved the friendly staff and the bright cleanliness of our room.
Cons: PG Tips available too.
Location: Lots of shops and restaurants near by and the beach was just as close in the other direction.
We had a great stay, the staff were always happy and polite, very helpful. The room was delightful, everything we needed. Would have preferred PG Tips but it made a change to have Earl Grey. It was a good location not too far from the places we wanted to go. We left wishing we could have stayed longer.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely located guest house

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Lovely experience. Quick check in with a fab location. Had a lovely room with great amenities and a sea view from the fire escape. Quick, efficient and easy.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok for over night stay

Posted Jun 1, 2015
Initial mix up over room resolved quickly. Room was clean and comfortable for over night stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable stay.

Posted May 31, 2015
Pros: Soft mattress & pillows.
Cons: Carpet in the room is not that soft like the carpet in the hallway.
Location: Very central location.
I was stay at a standard double on the first floor at the back of the building which has comfy mattress & pillows. Quiet room and the hallway carpet is quite soft.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not so great

Posted May 29, 2015
Not as expected. We paid for a 4 star "Superior" double.. I'd say it was a 2 star at best. We also had to wait for staff to return to the hotel to return the key!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from herts

Strange no reception

Posted May 23, 2015
Wasn't expecting much as read reviews didn't sound good but it was actually okay . Bit odd no reception you just go to the room and keys on the bed . Overall it's okay . Nothing amazing and nothing bad I'd stay here again . Not to far from town parking bad tho we got lucky found a space couple streets up so if you can get train go by train not car .
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel friendly staff!

Posted May 5, 2015
Pros: Theres a staff speaks Chinese!! which helps my mum a lot
I love that the rooms is so warm at night time. They were extremely quiet and peaceful. There are a plentiful supply of tea, coffee and juice for the duration of our stay. The rooms were serviced everyday. Our room was a little bit small, however it doesnt impact on our comfort that much.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

City Break

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: Clean bedding and ok location.
Cons: Cleanliness of bathroom and fittings
Location: Good range of cafes and eating places. Close to seafront.
Okay hotel but just a bed for the night. No milk to make tea and no snacks as promised. Would say it's not 4 star as described.