Ratings based on 189 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent budget hotel, lovely staff, lively outside

Posted May 5, 2017
I wanted a cheap room in central Brighton as I was doing a weekend training course there. I had a small single room, overlooking gardens. I also got my own bathroom, which I didn't pay for - unexpected bonus! The staff were lovely and the hotel had a friendly atmosphere. The main issue for me was that there were noisy drunk people walking past outside a lot of the night, which really disrupted my sleep. So if you're a light sleeper like me, maybe avoid this place at the weekends. Otherwise, recommended.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Small room, tiny bathroom

Posted May 4, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: English lesson for staff
For the cost we paid the space we had you could not swing a cat in. The breakfast was the worst English breakfast ever. I asked for well done bacon ended getting a cremated egg instead, poor language skills of staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NOTTINGHAMSHIRE

ECLOSE TO CITY CENTRE PARKING CAR SUBSTANTIAL EXTR

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Pros: THE CENTRAL LOCATION ENABLING EASY ACCESS FOR LOCAL AMENITIES AND PROMENADE. THE STAFF WERE FRIENDLY AND OBLIGING.
Cons: THE HOTEL WAS AS DESCRIBED ON EXPEDIA
Location: IDEAL LOCATION FOR BRIGHTON MARINA AND SHOPPING etc....
THE HOTEL WAS LOCATED CLOSE TO CITY CENTRE ALTHOUGH CAR PARKING WAS A SUBSTANTIAL EXTRA EXPENSE. IF YOU TRAVEL BY CAR, ONCE YOU FIND A STREET TO PARK ON LEAVE YOUR CAR THERE FOR THE DURATION OF YOUR STAY.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

More then expected

Posted Mar 8, 2017
The guest house was beautiful, we had private garden very clean room, lovely staff, enjoyed the time. Thank you
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel close to everything

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Apart from the drain smells the room was excellent the staff were friendly and helpful I would stay there again. Excellent valueless
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Derbyshire

Excellent guest house close to the sea front

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: Excellent free wi-fi speed. Staff - Fast, friendly and efficient. Location - close to the sea and pier.
Cons: Nothing from my point of view.
Location: Only here for a one-night concert trip, so didn't do much more. 'The Haunt' concert venue not far away. Lots of eateries within walking distance.
Check-in cheerful, speedy and efficient. Being shown to and into my room was a nice touch I wasn't expecting. Kudos to the lovely foreign brunette lady - thanks for that! (I'd name her if I could) The guest house is located within a 5-10 mins stroll from the sea front and a view of the pier, which is only a little further away. I don't know if it's commonplace in the area, but I found at least one nearby restaurant on the sea front road which was open 24 hours a day. Great if you're on a concert trip like me, and feel like a proper meal late at night after the gig has ended. Concert venue 'The Haunt' is also only a short walk away. Room-wise I don't have too many requirements. My double room was more than everything I needed. Not huge but not tiny either...just right for me. Clean and comfortable throughout. In-room tea and coffee facilities and a working telly are always handy. Unlike some establishments, the free in-room wi-fi was very fast for any normal usage. i.e. checking email, streaming video smoothly with no lag. All in all, everything worked just fine. Check-out was also just a matter of handing in the key, before a roughly thirty minute walk to Brighton railway station. (depending on how fast you walk and how much luggage you have)
3 out of 5
by Carol

Cheap n cheerful

Posted Feb 17, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is looking a little shabby however for the price it's a bargain. The bed linens were fresh and comfortable but the towels were dingy and frayed. We stayed in a room for 3 and there was plenty of space. Everything was clean. The staff were exceptional, very helpful and courteous, and the hotel is in a good location with restaurants, bars and shops right on the doorstep.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Extremely noisy

Posted Feb 15, 2017
The hotel was extremely noisy and we only managed to get a couple hours sleep on both nights. Shower was also cold and didn't work properly. Left feeling let down and more tired than when we arrived after a week of work.
5 out of 5
by Ross

Great place to stay

Posted Feb 13, 2017 on Hotels
This is a great place for the money. Clean and spacious room in a great central location near all major places. Staff are friendly and always looking to help. Highly recommend
4 out of 5
by David

Great little hotel

Posted Jan 24, 2017 on Hotels
Very good little hotel. Everything you need for a stay in Brighton, well situated and nice staff. The breakfast we had 1 morning was nice although the filter coffee was not of a high standard. The apparent language barrier was only a small inconvenience as there were other members of staff who could help the younger staff fill in the gaps so it was fine. The room was warm with its own heater which was great, although the window did not shut all the way. The blinds left a lot to be desired but it was very quiet outside which was a positive. Overall, if I were to go back to Brighton I wouldn't even consider going anywhere else other than the New Steine Hotel if I got the same prices again!