Ratings based on 52 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Location: Car parking easily accessable, fairly central location for all attractions/amenities
Very clean hotel. Comfortable bed and good facilities in the room. Friendly and helpful staff
5 out of 5
by Lesley

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 11, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Derby, UK

Comfortable room, good area, great staff

Posted Apr 5, 2016
We stayed at the Phoenix Guest House for three nights and felt very welcomed and comfortable. The hotel is very close to the coast, Hastings new town and just a short walk to the old town. We went to a nearby tearooms, Thai restaraunt and Mexican restaurant which were all great. Good location for all local attractions. The room was excellent. A little small but still good value with comfortable bed and modern bathroom. The room was finished to a high standard and included a fridge and tea/coffee making facilities so you can bring your own provisions. The room and rest of the hotel was impeccably clean. The staff were extremely friendly and flexible when cleaning the room. We got there early and were allowed to keep our luggage at the guest house whilst the room was being prepared. One slight issue is that parking is only free from 4pm-11am the following day (the hotel provided a permit for a car park which is a 1 minute walk - the other 5 hours you have to pay the difference or move the car. Not a big deal given the overall quality of our experience but it did say free parking when this was filtered on Expedia. Overall our stay was very welcoming, enjoyable and comfortable and I would strongly recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
by Sarah from Southminster

A very quick visit to Hastings.

Posted Nov 23, 2015 on Hotels
It is a lovely, clean and comfortable guest house and Barbera was very friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
by Susan from Cambridge

Good location - excellent design/decor

Posted Oct 30, 2015 on Hotels
Negatives include parking locally in a multi-storey though this is not far away, no breakfast available and very small room (especially the bathroom). Positives: very friendly staff, very clean with attractive decor. This is a Guest house that has maximised space. We were on the top floor - maybe this should be a room for younger people! So we would definitely reccomend the Phoenix but advise potential customers to check these points out.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 7, 2015 on Hotels
Very good quality guest house, lovely bathroom, free parking is in nearby multi storey. No breakfast but plenty of cafes nearby. Road is a little run down but very central.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Poole

Disappointing area, moderate hotel

Posted Sep 26, 2015
Pros: Room furnishings.
Cons: More prominent hotel sign. Instructions for coffee machine. Better guide on restaurants.
Location: Grotty, unattractive area.
Grotty area in central Hastings. Some difficulty in finding hotel, drove past it, poor hotel sign. Poor restaurants nearby. Internally the hotel was well furnished, and the room was well fitted out with a tight bathroom/shower. No breakfast. Nescafe coffee machine provided, but no instructions on how to work. Free car parking provided in public carpark next street.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Excellent Guest House.

Posted Sep 21, 2015
Pros: Convenient, quiet and very clean. Included hairdryer, wi-fi, fridge. Great new bathroom with excellent shower.
Cons: Why does no one ever provide a shelf in the shower to put my own toiletries and my glasses when I'm washing my hair?
Location: A few minutes from the sea. Walk along the seafront to the old town, with cafes, shops, art gallery and 2 old funiculars for great views.
Close to town centre and station. Quiet and close to the sea. Had everything I needed, including a fridge. Very clean and a new, spotless bathroom with shower. Would certainly stay there again.
4 out of 5
by Kristina

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 20, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dover

Within easy reach of shops and beach

Posted Sep 3, 2015
Pros: Location, staff, room.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: In the vicinity of shops, seafront, theatre, etc.
Stayed here for two nights as booked a show at the White Rock Theatre. Couldn't fault the guest house - everything was superb! Would definitely stay here again.