Ratings based on 1,220 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
54% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brighton

Never again!!!

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Booked at last minute for a reasonable price. However, it was the worst mistake! By far the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Room was dated but not the biggest problem. The hotel staff especially the security guard was incredibly rude and disrespectful! I am so disappointed never staying here again and would not recommend to anyone!!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from hampshire

Freezing cold room broken appliances

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Pros: Breakfast and dinner were nice especially evening meal location
Cons: Freezing cold room with only small heater that didn't give off much heat. Telephone socket broken showing exposed cables. Small cheap towels.
Location: Opposite the pier close to shops and right on sea front
We've stayed at this hotel lots of times and although it needs a bit of talc we've always had a good stay until now. We were put in a basement room which on arrival we were impressed with the size. However we were told to book our evening meal via phoning the restaurant when I went to try the phone was broken and the cables were exposed. The tv didn't work that well also. The worse thing for me was the freezing room I was woken at 4.30am shaking even with a duvet and blanket in.when we complained on checkout the woman told us that they only put the heating on for a few hours each morning and she was sorry and would get maintenance to look at this. I have since complained to the hotel chain and heard nothing. Like I've said was a regular customer but not any more. On another evening meal was really nice and breakfast was OK although they ran out of butter with no one around to ask.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Tatty

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: Clean room , and bathroom. Nice size bar and eating area .
Cons: Stairs , doors , paintwork very dirty and stained .
Location: Very close to pier and shops .
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chichester

Do not ever book this hotel

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Be careful of the advertising the portrayed view is nothing like the reality.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 11, 2016
It was good. Close to pier, but they do not have parking that made discomfort for us.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Time travel

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Cons: Up the quality control on cleaning; seriously.
Location: It is about as close as you can get to the centre of things, whilst still quiet enough on a Friday night for a relatively good night's sleep.
I've stayed at the Royal Albion before; it is my go-to hotel for trips to Brighton as it is convenient and relatively cheap. Walking through the door feels like you are going back in time, possibly to the 80s. The carpets remind me of my Nan's place. The staff are lovely. Helpful, efficient, considerate, all the things that you would home from hotel staff. Can't fault them. Alas, my room was not so good. The first thing I noticed was the smear of either blood or faeces on the light switch by the bed. I wiped it off with a bit of toilet roll. (It was blood) The second thing was the phone, which made an 'off the hook' noise even when it was on the hook. I had to unplug it in the end. Which involved moving the bed. Which involved regret. Dear Albion Hotel. Please clean your rooms. Please clean them properly. Bodily fluids and used tissues are not okay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from toronto

No window?

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Pros: Location was nice.
Cons: No windows, broken tv, early wake up by cleaning staff.
Location: Brighton Pier across the street, close to ocean, minutes from aquarium. Steps from funky old palace & lanes.
Decent rate but arrived to find a stufy basement room without a window or ventilation. At least they had a fan. It was late, so I'll watch tv, oh I suppose not it doesn't work. Don't forget checkout is early and I was awoken by cleaners at 9am. Redeeming quality was the fact it's across the street from Brighton Pier.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Reading

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Staff were helpful, quite a language barrier with a lot of them, the lift is painfully small and slow so be prepared to take the stairs. The bath is deep and big enough for two with jets but we didn't figure out how to work them. I have to admit it was terribly overpriced up to overpriced up to £250 for a standard double room for two nights without sea view. You're close to the seafront, restaurants, the lanes etc it is a really nice place but I would only go if there were any good offers on
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from birmingham

Terrible housekeeping staffs

Posted Sep 26, 2016
The housekeeping team iso terrible and should be changed with a more professional team. I stayed in the Hotel for five days and my beddings were changed only twice, they would just adjust the sheets without taking them out or replacing them with new ones. The floor was never hoovered and mopped at all. They are very rude aswell.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wrexham

Prime spot - classy hotel

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Pros: This hotel takes you back to a previous age of elegance and sophistication as soon as you enter, where friendly and helpful staff welcome you.
Cons: Would benefit from some parking space other than the few at front of hotel.
Location: Prime spot for pier, promenade, Sealife & Harvesters. Short 2 minute walk to shopping centre, and about 5 minute walk to the famous Brighton Pavilion.
Had a fantastic stay, staff were so polite & helpful, Brighton pier literally across the road. As my husband and I are disabled, it was easy just walking across to view the pier. Would highly recommend this beautiful hotel.