Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Old fashioned hotel

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Pros: The staff are mostly great. They are charming and helpful. The town is well worth the visit. The hotel's restaurant is very good.
Cons: Furnishings and plumbing are poor quality.
Location: Views, harbour, shops, tea rooms, restaurants and streets oozing medieval charm.
The hotel is in a great location for travellers wanting to stop overnight between GB and France. Mostly the staff are a delight - charming an helpful. The restaurant is good. There is a lot to see in this small port with its cobbled streets & attractive medieval houses that is well worth the visit. However, the hotel is let down by the rooms. We stayed in two of them. The standard room on our outward journey was small and cramped with an en-suite that only a small child would have called large. No mixer taps for the sink. On our return we upgraded to a larger room with a balcony. The furniture had seen better days. The en-suite was slightly larger but still no mixer taps on the sink. No porter o help with luggage. For £130 or £200 a night thiese rooms are vastly overpriced.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

was very disappointed

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Pros: not much very dated which should have been the charm about it bad management by the way my wife and i have owned and run Pubs and Restaurants for 25
Cons: Manager
Outside of hotel was very untidy car parking was a tip there was outside seating but you wouldn't want to sit there the gardens were scruffy the rooms had no aircon which was made worse as windows wouldn't open our friend next to us there bathroom was a joke more like a doll house and the sink was so low it looked like the dogs bowl The Breakfast was poor no fresh fruit which is a norm today Staff were pleasant and people need warning about the amount of stairs with no lift we really struggled with Luggage
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Delivers what you would expect

Posted May 11, 2017
Pros: The restaurant food in Salts was excellent. Much better than most bland corporate affairs. Well worth a visit. The pool was great, all be it very smal
Cons: Having a cooked breakfast served was a lovely change from a corporate buffet. Infortunately both the kippers and haddock options weren't upto the full
Location: The town is amazing, we've stayed at Camber Sands MANY times and just love the village. We had always wanted to stay in the town
Great location, has al you could expect. The nice pool is a bonus. Staff were great, clean and tidy all round.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good but not great

Posted Apr 22, 2017
I booked a classic room and on the booking asked for a nice room (view) as for a birthday, when we got to the room I actually checked the website to see if we were given the standard room, no view, no safe, room was on road, so noisy was woken early (6.00) in the morning by traffic, nice hotel but overpriced for what it was, parking the only bonus, this was the fourth hotel we look at in the area in the same price range but the other three were fully booked, we saw the other hotels and could clearly see why they were booked first. Knock £60 off price and this would be worth the money. Did find a lovely champagne wine Jazz bar near car park entrance.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Over priced, dated decor, nothing special.

Posted Apr 18, 2017
On arrival I found the receptionist's manner to be unwelcoming and her tone unhelpful when trying to sort out the room bookings. We did eventually solve the problem and it was clear she was trying to make amends but her initial tone was unnecessary and passively aggressive. I should stress all the other staff were exceedingly helpful so this could be an isolated incident. My main issue was the price of £150 and the room quality and furnishing. It felt outdated and gaudy, if you like the style of liberachi it would appeal though. We were on the first floor and I also felt the patio door locks were insufficient. Similarly I found it disappointing for the price, that room service for example was pretty limiting menu choices and times available. I feel if the room was arguably 40 to 50 pounds more expensive than it was worth..
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, shame about one receptionist

Posted Apr 5, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel itself is very nice, whether I would class it as a "spa hotel" is debatable. Unfortunately on arrival the lady behind reception was abrupt and unhelpful. She made us feel like an inconvenience and therefore made a bad start to what should have been a nice break. As I said though, the hotel is very nice, just one member of staff leaves a lot to be desired.
5 out of 5
by Marianne

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 6, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely and relaxed by stay

Posted Jan 23, 2017
From the moment we checked in we were well looked after, all staff were lovely, helpful and all round top notch! We had a small issue with the card machine not working but that was all I can say for the cons, and that was out of there control anyway! So relaxing and the pool and spa bath was a nice touch... all in all had a great weekend stay there
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hythe Kent

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Pros: Breakfast and the staff
Cons: Ambience in the seating area
Location: Rye is a charming ancient town with views to the sea and surrounding area. A town for adults rather than families.
Room a bit too small but staff and breakfast excellent
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Dec 30, 2016 on Hotels
Good pool and sauna facilities. Staff friendly and helpful