Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

High Victorian dream

Posted May 7, 2017
Character, friendliness, good breakfast and a fascinating location
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Hotels
Amazing, run by owners who care about lot about thier customers and are passionate about thier home.Possibly not for those who like slick modern accommodation. Made to feel at home as a solo traveller, Every part of the house had a personal touch.
5 out of 5
by Michael from London

St Leonarnds alternative stay to the norm.

Posted Jul 17, 2016 on Hotels
Really warm welcome from everyone here. This place can not make anything as so much effort made. We were given home baked cake & tea. Strong religious theme which was not unpleasant. Large collection of religious Ikons. Incredible decor and attention to detail
5 out of 5
by christopher from DC

Posted Jun 12, 2016 on Hotels
Very welcoming. Interesting hotel full of orthodox religious collections. Nice old fashioned rooms
5 out of 5
by Not Provided from London

A Victorian victory

Posted Jan 9, 2016 on Hotels
I was extremely impressed by this quaint little B&B. The lady who works there (the lovely Kat) is warm and friendly and really makes you feel welcome. The breakfast was very good as was the room. Totally perfect in all areas!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

A unique experience, excellent host.

Posted Dec 8, 2015
Pros: Its character and the warm welcome.
Cons: Nothing springs to mind.
Location: Norman Rd in St Leonards for shopping, Pier 9 Restaurant, Hastings Old Town and the fisherman's huts (up near the Jerwood).
This B&B is like nothing I've seen outside a museum – everything from the curtains to the wallpaper to the bathtub are Victorian. The owners have dedicated many years to making this an authentic Victorian experience (with a few 21st century comforts, of course). Paul, the host, was friendly and accommodating, even leaving us tea and cake on our arrival in the living room and a filling full English breakfast to set us for the the next day. If you're fans of this period, you will be in your element.
5 out of 5
by emma from Nottinghamshire

Unique and great experience.

Posted Dec 6, 2015 on Hotels
The house is amazing and a unique experience. The housekeeper Katherine who was the host for our stay was fabulous,friendly knowledgeable and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast and tea and cake on arrive was a very high standard. Would highly recommend a visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nicely different

Posted Aug 31, 2015
Hard to spot from the main road, Bnb has a church/monastery feel to it, a bit OTT with religious decor. Breakfast badly organised, would work a lot better alacart rather than buffet. I waited 20min for buffet to be re supplied which never happened. Staff are nice tho. Recommend.
5 out of 5
by Patricia from Cardiff

Amazing B&B

Posted Aug 20, 2015 on Hotels
I stayed at St Benedict for one night while exploring Hastings and Bexhill area. This B&B is something very special. It's almost worth the trip to Hastings just to stay here. The Victorian decor is wonderful. It is really like stepping back into the era. The collection is vast - every inch of the house has so much to discover. The garden is also beautiful. I stayed in the former nursery on the top floor, which now has a large bed and a wonderful view to the ocean. As is often the case with old houses, I had my own bathroom just down the hall rather than ensuite. (A bathrobe was provided.) Note that the bathing arrangements are Victorian also - being a bath without a shower. Breakfast was served in the dining room with all guests seated around the large, beautifully laid dining table. A hot and cold buffet is served using period crockery and utensils. This B&B won't suit those who want all the 'modcons' - no TV here. Don't worry - the rooms have power outlets for charging your modern gadgets and a kettle secreted under a tea cosy. A unique experience. The owners are lovely offering guests advice and lifts when they can.
5 out of 5
by Andrea from Arundel

Great attention to detail

Posted Aug 11, 2015 on Hotels
St Benedict takes you back to Victorian times in all aspects. The house has been furnished with fantastic attention to detail; it's in a quiet location in a very attractive part of St Leonards on Sea. The breakfast was superb. With hindsight, we should have booked the room with the shower, an oversight on my part.