Ratings based on 57 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
46% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by James

My nice and pleasant stay in Eastbourne. :-)

Posted Feb 6, 2017 on Hotels
I had as really nice stay at The Albany. The receptionist was one of the best I have ever met, Sandra is her name. She was very helpful and welcoming, so was the waiter from Liverpool, when I went down for breakfast in the mornings. Talking about breakfast, it was help yourself and it had everything, cerial and juices right through to cooked food, all there for you to go up and get. Excellent! The room was nice and clean and comfortable, the beds mattress was perfect. The hotel was nice and warm and the room itself was nice and toasty. :-) I had a nice hot shower both mornings. The shower was nice and powerful too. The Pier is just down/across the road and the Town Centre just around the corner. A bit of advice regarding local eateries: AVOID Harry Ramsden's fish and chip shop/restaurant! I felt like I got ripped off! The 'Qualisea' fish and chip shop/restaurant on the corner of Terminus Road and Seaside Road IS the place to go (the food is a total contrast to Harry Ramsden's, the food tastes really, really good and the portions/fish size are bigger too. Plus, you'll probably pay about 1/3 LESS for your meal)! The Pier is looking good now, nice and freshly decorated/maintained. The gold lions are a nice touch, the gold domes too. I will be back to Eastbourne soon, that is for sure! :-)
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 4, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Steve from Donegal

Bring your sleeping bag just in case!

Posted Jun 26, 2016 on Hotels
Arrived to our hotel on the 21st of June to be told that the double room for 2 nights which i had booked through Hotels.com on the 13th of February was not on their system and that no rooms were available. Thankfully i had a printed copy of our booking as the hotel knew nothing about us and our booking. After some time waiting for them to find us a room in their sister hotel (this was also fully booked as the Aegon International Tennis was on this week, which is why we were there) we discovered that there was a double room available for our first night but not our second nights stay. It took some convincing to get them to give us that room which then gave them another 24 hours to solve the issue for the couple arriving the following day. The hotel was very much outdated in the rooms and for the £95 per night was not up to an exceptable standard. The room was not serviced after the first night of our stay and not refreshed with coffee/milk etc. It seem to be aimed at the bus tours full of tourists and we felt that our booking was of no real interest to them and the blame seemed to be very much put onto Bookings.com who i have used for the last 2 years throughout my travels, and this is the first time i have had such an experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from High Wycombe

A run down hotel needing refurbishment.

Posted Jun 21, 2016
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Total refurbishment.
Location: Eastbourne is a nice place to visit. We had rain all weekend. Good shops. Book for the. Tennis. This was excellent.t
There was scaffolding over the front of hotel. Our sea view was scaffolding and wooden planks. Bathroom tiny. Room small. Dirt and poor paint on ceiling and pipes. Lift very small 3 people. Restaurant closed at 7.30pm. Staff were very good. A dismal old fashioned hotel needing a total refurbishment. Photos online do not reflect the reality of the hotel. We would never stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Weekend away

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Stayed one night unfortunately the same night as 18th birthday function, unable to get evening meal but receptionist booked us a table at local restaurant hotel staff were excellent 5 star plus for everything
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice'ish hotel

Posted Oct 26, 2015
No hot water in the shower the next morning. Didn't complain as in a hurry but disappointing.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from brighton

Probably wouldn't go back.

Posted Oct 26, 2015
We arrived and the staff were okay, went up to the room where the bedding was ripped and the whole room just looked a bit off. Had a bath and the water didn't go past a warm temperature. When I tried to have a bath again in the morning there was no hot water at all.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dont stay at this hotel

Posted Aug 17, 2015 on Hotels
I am surprised you promote this hotel, it is in a poor state and needs some updating, very worn out, broken tiles in the shower room, poor lighting and sticky carpets, so bad couldn't stay for the two nights.
3 out of 5
by Anthony from Gosport

Good Time

Posted Jul 4, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel was almost empty after the tennis week. This meant that restaurant service was rudimentary which reduced the overall score. Staff were very helpful.
3 out of 5
by Dominic from Cornwall

Perfectly good for the money

Posted Jun 30, 2015 on Hotels
It's not an expensive hotel so I was not expecting much. It does it's job absolutely fine but I would not want to spend time here. Staff are friendly and for me it was just somewhere to sleep. Breakfast is fine if quite old fashioned setup.