Ratings based on 55 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
43% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from High Wycombe

A run down hotel needing refurbishment.

Posted Jun 21, 2016
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Total refurbishment.
Location: Eastbourne is a nice place to visit. We had rain all weekend. Good shops. Book for the. Tennis. This was excellent.t
There was scaffolding over the front of hotel. Our sea view was scaffolding and wooden planks. Bathroom tiny. Room small. Dirt and poor paint on ceiling and pipes. Lift very small 3 people. Restaurant closed at 7.30pm. Staff were very good. A dismal old fashioned hotel needing a total refurbishment. Photos online do not reflect the reality of the hotel. We would never stay there again.
3 out of 5
by TONY

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 30, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Weekend away

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Stayed one night unfortunately the same night as 18th birthday function, unable to get evening meal but receptionist booked us a table at local restaurant hotel staff were excellent 5 star plus for everything
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice'ish hotel

Posted Oct 26, 2015
No hot water in the shower the next morning. Didn't complain as in a hurry but disappointing.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from brighton

Probably wouldn't go back.

Posted Oct 26, 2015
We arrived and the staff were okay, went up to the room where the bedding was ripped and the whole room just looked a bit off. Had a bath and the water didn't go past a warm temperature. When I tried to have a bath again in the morning there was no hot water at all.
2 out of 5
by Peter from Groenlo

Nostalgisch hotel, aan zee, erg oud.

Posted Oct 14, 2015 on Hotels
Eerst een piepklein kamertje toegewezen, gevraagd om zeezichtkamer. Wel gekregen, ruim en echt mooi gelegen. Hotel is erg oud. Buiten de kamers niet erg schoon. Ontbijt was 3 hotels verder bij een ander Lionshotel. Geen parkeerplaats aanwezig. Je moet lang wachten voor er een betaalde aan de straat vrij komt.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dont stay at this hotel

Posted Aug 17, 2015 on Hotels
I am surprised you promote this hotel, it is in a poor state and needs some updating, very worn out, broken tiles in the shower room, poor lighting and sticky carpets, so bad couldn't stay for the two nights.
3 out of 5
by Anthony from Gosport

Good Time

Posted Jul 4, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel was almost empty after the tennis week. This meant that restaurant service was rudimentary which reduced the overall score. Staff were very helpful.
3 out of 5
by Dominic from Cornwall

Perfectly good for the money

Posted Jun 30, 2015 on Hotels
It's not an expensive hotel so I was not expecting much. It does it's job absolutely fine but I would not want to spend time here. Staff are friendly and for me it was just somewhere to sleep. Breakfast is fine if quite old fashioned setup.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London UK

Albany Lions Hotel

Posted Jun 9, 2015
Pros: Nice position, very good breakfast.
Cons: The rooms had been refurbished but only up to a point. Some of the work had been left rough and wires were sticking outside the wardrobe.
Location: Eastbourne is a busy vibrant place. The bus trip to Beachy Head is a must as its a beautiful ride. Walking is great as there is a very long promenad
Well positioned hotel which caters for coach parties, so its full and busy. Breakfast was excellent. The hotel fell down twice for me as its electrics were not good. The first room I was given had no light in the bathroom and in the second, the kettle failed. The staff were all Eastern European and pleasant, but did not really put themselves out very much which was unusual. Not very well run from the top is my opinion.