Ratings based on 141 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Wattsy from Bicester

Posted Aug 28, 2014 on Hotels
A really good hotel would stay there next time we are down
2 out of 5
by Mrs O from Birmingham

Run Down

Posted Aug 11, 2014 on Hotels
The Hotel is in a great location. The staff were great and couldn't do enough for you, including in the restaurant which was great (we had breakfast included). I think the Cleaners obviously did as much as they could because the sink, toilet etc were clean but unfortunately the room was dirty and looked run down. We were in a family room on the ground floor. As there was no air-con we had to open the windows, which were difficult to open, and then the room was very noisy from traffic etc outside. The room size was great but the carpet felt grubby, the chair was covered in stains and the sheets did not feel clean. My quilt cover was covered in bleach marks and looked ready for the bin, my bed felt like it sank in the middle and had lots of layers to it as though they were trying to cover up something. I didn't dare investigate further. Overall I would say that the Staff are brilliant but the Hotel lets them down. For the price we paid I would expect a clean carpet.
3 out of 5
by Daisy from Southampton

Great location - but scruffy

Posted Jun 25, 2014 on Hotels
The location of this hotel is fantastic - especially for the conference centre. Preston street behind the hotel is a great place to eat. The view is amazing. The room was spotless and there was loads of free coffee .But - breakfast was poor, the dining room was cramped and the tables not cleared. Only one of the 4 beds in my room was horizontal and the curtains did not close. The stairs were rickety and frankly the stairwells are dirty. The lift is one of the most frightening I have ever experienced. It was not cheap either, but it is a 2 star hotel in a great location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Obi from London

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: The breakfast was excellent
Location: The Brighton Pier was great and very child friendly (take your wallet).
Very comfortable, a better experience than a more expensive 5 star hotel I recently stayed in. The room for a family of five was excellent and the parking facilities was within a stone's throw. They stored my bicycle in secure storage and the concierge gave us pointers on where to stroll and find local attractions
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel

Posted Jun 1, 2014 on Hotels
Room was a little small for a Twin Room but overall very clean, fantastic service. Just booked another week.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old school

Posted May 21, 2014 on Hotels
Rooms and decoration are very old ...it feels like you've stepped back in time...almost charming. Friendly staff, nice breakfast, great location! Perfect for a short stay that won't break the bank!
2 out of 5
by Nick from Bristol

Centrally located, but quiet for a Thursday night.

Posted May 11, 2014
Pros: Very little
Cons: Major refurbishment
Location: OK
The quality of the decoration is appalling and on the third floor is well below what I would expect from a two star hotel. The lift is ancient and requires you to close a lattice gate before it would operate. I found on a number of occasions guests had failed to do so and consequently the lift did not arrive. It would help if the hotel employed some local staff who were comprehensible. Breakfast unimaginative and served on very small plates to ensure you did not each too much. No proper shower facilities, relying on a hose attachment to the bath taps in a very small and unusually shaped bath. The hot water stopped running at one stage when in mid-shampooing and restored at a trickle. The entire hotel from staffing to accommodation need series improvements and shows a lack of management.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by AA from London

Ideal if you are running Brighton Marathon

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: The staff
Cons: Most definitely WIFI on your room they only had on the lobby
Location: Very close to the beach and Brighton city centre also you can walk from the train station to the hotel about 15-20 min
I wasn't expecting much as I choose one of the cheapest hotel for an overnight stay so I could start the Brighton Marathon nice and fresh, I tell something, what had all the marks of being a nightmare turn up to be an excellent choice . Albeit not because of the facilities on the hotel ( they have one of those 1950's lift that I would be very aware ) but the girl on the reception and the manager, there was a problem with my shower head and I wasn't impressed when I complained I thought that it was going to be a manager trying not to acknowledge their short comings and perhaps ready to argue. To my surprise the manager was extremely apologetic, repaired the problem straight way and offered me a breakfast for free ( luck for him I don't eat anything before my marathon ) but the best was the offer for me to leave all my stuff on my run and come back to have a shower before I had home. To which I must say made my day, I am already thinking about running Brighton 2015 and definitely will be going back there.
3 out of 5
by Henry from Macclesfield

Great Location

Posted Jan 28, 2014 on Hotels
Hotel is a lovely old building, but needs some considerable re decoration and refurbishment, ie; rooms are large and spacious but need modernising, bathroom very 1970's some skirting boards missing. The breakfast is poor and needs to be put on a larger scale if number of guests increased. Food and service was fine though!Reception and restaurant staff were very courteous and accommodating.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 24, 2014 on Hotels
Great location, huge rooms, clean and tidy, hotel a bit 'tired' could do with a good lick of paint. Breakfast lovely. Well worth the price. Staff helpful and friendly