Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Birthday stay

Posted Jun 22, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: none
Clean and comfortable...just what we wanted with a great location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ontario, cansda

Olde English

Posted May 28, 2016
Loved this place. People there made the difference. Most helpful. They really tried to make your visit pleasant. It is right across from beach. Huge park/lawn in middle if square. Regency Square. We plan on going back. Quaint but well kept up without loosing 1800's feel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Historic building in a great location !

Posted Feb 20, 2016
Pros: The room was big with great views ! Plenty of breakfast !
Cons: A bit shabby in places , but work seemed to be happening .
Location: Good pub at the top of road .
This is a good 2*hotel , and great value for money ! The real bonus is the Regency Restaurant , which serves excellent food at great prices
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Obi from London

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: The breakfast was excellent
Location: The Brighton Pier was great and very child friendly (take your wallet).
Very comfortable, a better experience than a more expensive 5 star hotel I recently stayed in. The room for a family of five was excellent and the parking facilities was within a stone's throw. They stored my bicycle in secure storage and the concierge gave us pointers on where to stroll and find local attractions
2 out of 5
by Nick from Bristol

Centrally located, but quiet for a Thursday night.

Posted May 11, 2014
Pros: Very little
Cons: Major refurbishment
Location: OK
The quality of the decoration is appalling and on the third floor is well below what I would expect from a two star hotel. The lift is ancient and requires you to close a lattice gate before it would operate. I found on a number of occasions guests had failed to do so and consequently the lift did not arrive. It would help if the hotel employed some local staff who were comprehensible. Breakfast unimaginative and served on very small plates to ensure you did not each too much. No proper shower facilities, relying on a hose attachment to the bath taps in a very small and unusually shaped bath. The hot water stopped running at one stage when in mid-shampooing and restored at a trickle. The entire hotel from staffing to accommodation need series improvements and shows a lack of management.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by AA from London

Ideal if you are running Brighton Marathon

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: The staff
Cons: Most definitely WIFI on your room they only had on the lobby
Location: Very close to the beach and Brighton city centre also you can walk from the train station to the hotel about 15-20 min
I wasn't expecting much as I choose one of the cheapest hotel for an overnight stay so I could start the Brighton Marathon nice and fresh, I tell something, what had all the marks of being a nightmare turn up to be an excellent choice . Albeit not because of the facilities on the hotel ( they have one of those 1950's lift that I would be very aware ) but the girl on the reception and the manager, there was a problem with my shower head and I wasn't impressed when I complained I thought that it was going to be a manager trying not to acknowledge their short comings and perhaps ready to argue. To my surprise the manager was extremely apologetic, repaired the problem straight way and offered me a breakfast for free ( luck for him I don't eat anything before my marathon ) but the best was the offer for me to leave all my stuff on my run and come back to have a shower before I had home. To which I must say made my day, I am already thinking about running Brighton 2015 and definitely will be going back there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Muriel from Brampton, ON, Canada

Good place to stay

Posted Jul 26, 2013
Pros: The service
Cons: The lift!!
Location: Very good location if you don't want to be in the noise from the pier at night
The hotels location was very good, with a wonderful seafood resturant(owned by the hotel) next door. The hotel is being renovated so some parts are not as good as others but the beds were clean and clean fresh thick towels every day, The bathroom in the room I had was just renovated, lovely shower and beautifully tiled, The staff were very helpful and always pleasant. The breakfast was a buffet style, lots to choose from, hot food was fresh and kept being replaced. The lobby had comfortable chairs, aTV and WiFi Great place to stay and I would certainly go back. Great for the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dan from London, UK

Great hotel on a budget in the heart of Brighton

Posted May 7, 2013
Great hotel on a budget. All the staff are absolutely lovely and we had a very large twin room with ensuite and breakfast at a very reasonable price. The building is a little tired but all areas are very clean and the location is perfect for getting.... everywhere! Recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Prime location, good price, great staff.

Posted Mar 7, 2013
Pros: Staff, location, breakfast.
Cons: Building definitely needs work, obviously a slow process.
Location: Seafront 1min, traditional fish restaurant 15secs, city centre 5-10mins.
Great location, right by the sea, and beside an age-old, traditional restaurant, not to mention the city centre. Hotel itself equally ageing and needs work, but the (mainly Hungarian) staff more than made up for it. Really decent breakfast too. For the price, not bad at all.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by E. from Chile

Great hotel for an "escape weekend" to the beach

Posted Oct 13, 2012
Pros: The see view.
Cons: the stairs.
Location: Near city attractions and pier.
Nice room for a hotel that is a little bit old nevertheless no complains on that. Nice breakfast and fast internet.