Ratings based on 69 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from mansfield

Good spot for hotel

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Shower room very small if you like a lot of room otherwise no complains.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bexley

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Small friendly staff good food.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Very central easy to find. we went into Eastbourne and Newhaven. On the Sunday we went to the Bentley car Museum a great day out for the whole family.
We had a very nice weekend lovely room and the food in the hotel was very good. Staff made us feel welcomed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Norwich

Convenient situation.

Posted Jun 23, 2016
Pros: The staff are very friendly and we enjoyed the breakfast. Good local beer. A nice old English feel in the bar.
Cons: The decor in general. The place has a run-down feel about it.
Location: Well situated to visit Chartwell and Battle. Lewes is a lovely old town with a castle and the coast is not far away.
We were visiting friends in the area so it suited us fine. The inn is in need of a bit of TLC and our room (number 7) was unbelievably cramped. It did have a very nice on-suite but there was no door separating it from the room, just a wall between the bed and the shower etc., which was not ideal. We would probably use the Hotel again, but not in that room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 6, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Trevor from Huntingdon

Black Lion Hotet

Posted May 18, 2016 on Hotels
Not a bad place - undergoing refurbishment in some areas at the moment ideally situated for Brighton and surrounding areas. Unfortunately I could not get a VAT receipt so I won't be able to stay there again as my stay was for business
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

nice hotel, close to brighton

Posted May 14, 2016
The Black Lion is a great family run pub, the owners are extremely friendly, welcoming and helpful. The en-suite rooms are lovely & clean and the bed is very comfortable. There is a good selection of drinks, great food and a cool games room with 2/3 pool tables. Lewes train station is a 15 minute drive away with trains running every 10 minutes to Brighton. We will deffintely be staying here again when we're in the area.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fareham

cosy pub

Posted May 3, 2016
Pros: Paul and Sam very good hosts.Good varied locally sourced menu. Very comfy beds.
Location: Eastbourne and Tunbridge Wells close.Easy to get to seven sisters country park
Relaxing bank holiday break.Excellent food especially Sunday roast,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Other landlord and landlady were fantastic,

Posted Apr 22, 2016
The owners couldn't do enough to make sure our stay was good , they took their time to talk to us to find out any eating issues etc , we would go again
3 out of 5
by Steve from Loughborough

Cheap and cheerful

Posted Feb 23, 2016 on Hotels
The Hotel was OK, the hosts were very attentive, they had only been in the hotel for a matter of days and had obviously taken on a lot. The beer was OK as was the food but the general condition of the hotel was run down, the hosts stated this will be addressed in the near future.
3 out of 5
by Clive from Reigate

Nice break

Posted Feb 17, 2016 on Hotels
Received a very warm welcome from the new owners. Although the hotel is on a main road it seemed peaceful. Some of the communal floorboards are a bit creaky and the mattress has probably seen better days, overall though good value for money, friendly helpful and nice food. I would stay again in the future as I believe the new owners will make this an even nicer Pub/Hotel. My dog was made to feel very welcome.